DayBreaks for 5/5/21 – The Mob and the Boy

I don’t know why, but the feeding of the 5000 is the one “regular” miracle that is mentioned in all four gospels. That means that there must be great significance to it and many lessons we can learn from it. But today I want to focus on just one.

Who fed the 5000? Jesus did. There can be no denying that. No one else could have done what he did.

I used to pastor a church. I, like just about every other pastor I know, dreamed of a growing, vibrant church that would be bursting at the seams. I desired to feed a large flock with the Word each Sunday when I occupied the pulpit. But that wasn’t God’s dream for that church. It was a constant struggle after the first few years. Frustrations mounted, doubts crept in and I found myself second-guessing everything I thought or did. The church started small and stayed small. I was devastated.

Maybe that’s why I take great comfort in a thought I heard just yesterday. It was simply this: Jesus doesn’t ask me to feed the 5000.  He only asks me to bring my fish and loaves and leave the rest to him.

Jesus isn’t asking you to feed the 5000 either. He knows better than I what I can and can’t do. He knows my limitations. What he asks of all of us is to bring to him whatever we have and hand it over to him while we watch in amazement.

Jesus knows I can’t feed the 5000. He knows what I have to give and what you have to give. Will we part with it and put it into his hands?

PRAYER: Jesus, forgive us our ambitions of greatness and teach us to loosen our grasp on our possessions, skills, abilities and hearts to we can hand them to you and let you make miraculous things happen for your kingdom. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Copyright 2021, Galen C. Dalrymple. ><}}}”>

2 thoughts on “DayBreaks for 5/5/21 – The Mob and the Boy

Leave a comment