DayBreaks for 7/07/17 – Give Me Those Eyes!

DayBreaks for 7/07/17: Give Me Those Eyes

Matthew 17 records the story of the transfiguration of Jesus. It only takes eight verses to give us the details, but also to capture our imaginations. I’ve heard this story a bazillion times, read it not quite that many, but when Michael Card recently share it in his The Card Community email newsletter, something struck me that I’d not noticed before. Here’s what the text says: Matthew 17:7-8 (NLT) – Then Jesus came over and touched them. “Get up,” he said. “Don’t be afraid.” And when they looked, they saw only Jesus.

Moments before the disciples (verse 5) were terrified and fell face down to the ground for at least three reasons: 1) Jesus was shining like the sun, 2) they witnessed “dead” men standing and talking (sorta like Sixth Sense) in Moses and Elijah, and 3) they’d heard the voice of God which always (well, more often than not) struck fear into mortals. Is it any wonder they went face down!?!?!

But verse 7 tells us that as soon as that happened, Jesus went over to them, touched them and told them to not be afraid. That’s when the disciples looked up and when they did, what did they see? Only Jesus.

Gone were Elijah and Moses, gone was the terrifying glow and thundering voice. All that was left was Jesus.

Oh, how I hope that every time I look up, every time that I lift my eyes, I will see only Jesus! My eyes are prone to wander and try to take in everything, but only one thing is really important – and that is to see and look constantly and steadfastly at him!

When I’m afraid, I need to see him. When I’m joyful, I need to see him. When I’m confused, let me see him. When I’m tempted, let me fasten my eyes on him. In short, may the only thing we see be Him!

PRAYER: God, give me those eyes that see only Jesus and not the things that frighten or terrify! Let my fears be put to rest as I look up to see my Lord! In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Copyright by 2017 by Galen C. Dalrymple.  ><}}}”>

Leave a Reply

