DayBreaks for 6/19/17: My Fathers, Who Art in Heaven

Dad

DayBreaks for 6/19/17: My Fathers, Who Art in Heaven

As I write this, it is Father’s Day. I don’t know why, but for some reason today I find myself missing my father more than I have for a long, long time. I can’t seem to get him out of my mind, even though he’s been gone now almost 20 years. I am glad, though, that he is still in my mind and heart. I was blessed to have the father I did, and as I’ve said before, my father was the finest man I’ve ever known.

As I contemplated my dad today and the friendship and love we shared, I was struck during worship about a line in a song that we sang about how Jesus loves me in spite of all my sin. It made me think about my dad, who loved me in spite of the sins he knew about. He didn’t know about them all, but he loved me in spite of the flaws he did see in me. And then I thought about my Heavenly Father and how much greater His love is for me because He sees ALL my sin and still loves me without condition or restraint. How can such love be?

In trying to figure out the answer to that last question, I have to look no further than my own experience as a father to three amazing kids (now adults with their own families) and five incredibly precious grandchildren. As I think about how I love them, I realize that even if I knew all their flaws (and I do know some of them!), I would still love them. I realize that even if I knew all their sins – even the darkest ones that they hide from human eyes – I would not love them any less. And that is how God loves me.

I never once doubted my father’s love. I knew by his actions, even if not always by his words, that he loved me to the moon and back. But my Heavenly Father’s love is so far beyond that. The distance to the moon and back his vast, but if we know anything about the Father’s love for us, it is infinite. I don’t know how far it is to the farthest star in the entire universe. All I know is that it is a long, long way – beyond my ability to comprehend or even imagine. And here’s the part that really gets me: Jesus traversed that vast distance to bring this prodigal home because His love reached that far – and even farther.

My fathers in heaven love me. The God of the universe loves you and has been pursuing our hearts throughout the vastness of space and time in order to be with us once again.

The day will come when I shall be with my fathers in heaven. What a delight it will be to see both of them – and to never be parted again.

PRAYER: Father, thank You for being my Father. Thank You for giving me the father you did. Let me never forget the vastness of Your love and the distance You traveled to bring your son home. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Copyright by 2017 by Galen C. Dalrymple.  ><}}}”>

2 thoughts on “DayBreaks for 6/19/17: My Fathers, Who Art in Heaven

  1. You made me smile today. I started smiling as soon as opened your blog this morning and saw my Uncle Don smiling at me! I have been smiling and singing “Precious Memories” ever since. Thank you for blessing me today!

    • Ah, how sweet it is to think of you singing that today! You have blessed me in return! What awesome memories we have of the Eight, and the family reunions and worship/singing together as an extended family. Hope you’re doing well!

Leave a Reply

