DayBreaks for 4/14/17 – Ho-Hum, It’s Easter Week

DayBreaks for 4/14/17: Ho-Hum, It’s Easter Week

From the Holy Week devotional guide from our church:

“On occasion, I will record a sporting event of a team I’m cheering for. If they win the contest, then I can watch and enjoy, even when it seems the other team is winning or making ground. I can relax because I know the outcome. Now, I must say that as much as I like being able to relax while I watch it, it’s just not as exhilarating when my team wins.

“For me, Easter can sometimes be like that. I know the outcome of what happens, but honestly it can be sort of ho-hum. At times, there’s not much joy or exhilaration for me, even though it certainly is the most important day of the year for Christians. I believe I lack an appreciation of what it took to get there.

“At that time when our Lord was crucified, the disciples didn’t know what would happen a few days later. They had been told but maybe they were in such shock or it didn’t register. That day was a horrific day for our Lord and it was certainly quite difficult for His disciples. It truly was a dark day. Then, Sunday came. Can you imagine the joy; even the exhilaration when they saw their Lord had risen? Just think of the emotional swing they must have gone through.

“For us, our exhilaration may not necessarily come from knowing Jesus rose from the dead, but may come from knowing why He rose from the dead. Our exhilaration may come from knowing that day (we remember it as Good Friday) is when our Lord suffered and died for our sins, and ironically our exhilaration eventually starts from seeing our darkness, as those who are no different than those who mocked Him, spat upon Him, and rejected Him as King. Our darkness is our sin and our penalty He takes upon himself, by dying on the cross. John Stott, pastor and theologian, said ‘Until you see the cross as that which is done by you, you will never appreciate that it is done for you.’ Yes, it is our pride, our greed, our lust, our anger, our hate and our many other sins that put Him there.

“On this Good Friday, ask God to help you see what you did to put our Lord on the cross and then thank Him. He paid the penalty you deserved. Reflect on it. Meditate on it.

“My prayer for you and me is that this Sunday will truly not be so ho-hum. May there be joy! May there be exhilaration! There can be. He died for you!” – Bob Carter, staff chaplain, Perimeter church

PRAYER: Lord, I acknowledge that I am responsible for Your death on the cross. Lord, I accept that your death on the cross was for me. Thank you for paying a penalty I could never pay. In Jesus’ name, Amen. 

Copyright 2017 by Galen Dalrymple.

Leave a Reply

