DayBreaks for 3/06/17 – Why Can’t I See the Beauty?

dsc022782__-2_tonemappedtc

DayBreaks for 3/06/17: What Can’t I See the Beauty?

I don’t know anyone who doesn’t like it when they perceive something as being truly beautiful. It could be a work of art, a piece of music, a flower or mountain meadow. There are people who are considered beautiful, though it is often said of us humans that beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

I was reading some of Ann Voskamp’s writing on Friday evening and she was taking about a disciple that she was forcing upon herself – that being learning to see and appreciate the beauty of what God has made and then giving Him thanks for it.

There are few things I enjoy more than the beauty of nature. Two of my most favorite memories of natural beauty took place when I was with my best friend, Ken. One was up in the high Sierra’s in California near Highlands Lake when we hiked up a ridge and sat at the top looking down into a meadow of wildflowers in a meadow with meltwater ponds. The second one was night when we were coming back in our small boat from fishing and we were heading due east as the sun was setting over the slivery smooth water and wake directly behind the boat.

I don’t find it too hard to see beauty. But as I thought about it, I wondered why it is that I don’t see beauty in the pinnacle of God’s creation: humans. It bothered me that I don’t perceive the people that I meet as being beautiful (I’m not talking especially here about physical beauty, but the more hidden kinds of beauty like intellectual beauty, emotional beauty or spiritual beauty. Why, if humans are made in the image of God Himself, is it that I struggle so to see the beauty in humans that God apparently sees in us?

It is possible that I can’t see it because of how the fall has made us all more than a bit ugly. I suspect that has a lot to do with my struggle. But then it dawned on me that perhaps the reason I can’t see the beautiful image of God in my fellow man may not be their fault so much as the fault of my own fallen nature that keeps me from seeing the image of God in others. Goodness knows I struggle to even find a scintilla of it in myself.

God saw/sees enough beauty in His creation, including humans, that He went to great lengths to redeem His creation. We are told that all of creation groans and travails for its redemption. We have never seen the creation in its perfected state so even the beauty we do see and appreciate so much is nothing compared to what it must have been like in Eden. We have never seen a perfected human, either. God has. And even in our fallen state, He loves us and died for us.

I need to work harder to see the image of God in others no matter how hidden or marred it may be by sin. After all, I’ve been marred, too.

PRAYER: Jesus, help us to see the beauty in others that you see and to appreciate them more than we do. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Copyright 2017 by Galen Dalrymple.

2 thoughts on “DayBreaks for 3/06/17 – Why Can’t I See the Beauty?

  1. Thanks for this Daybreaks and especially refreshing my memory of those two beautiful moments we shared together.  There is a beauty in our friendship that completes the beauty we have shared in nature.Love you my friend.Have a good week.KenSent from XFINITY Connect Mobile App

    • I love you, too, buddy! I will never forget those moments, and others like them, that we have shared through the long years of our friendship. I hope we make some more!!!! Have a blessed week.

Leave a Reply

