DayBreaks for 10/10/16 – How Your Light is Spent

Image result for fading light

DayBreaks for 10/10/16 – How Your Light is Spent           

One of the greatest poems in the English language was written by John Milton as he dealt with the onset of his blindness. “When I Consider How My Light Is Spent” has eleven lines with seven subordinate clauses. When the dependent clauses are stripped away we are left with their sense:

When I consider how my light is spent,
I fondly ask (so he won’t scold me)
If God demands day-labor light denied?

John Milton’s contention with himself as he thought on his blindness was not simply a complaint and a chastening. Clearly he was in anguish not only at his loss of sight but at his inability to serve God as he thought he should. But, Milton found through his loss not only the resignation to abide it but turned his mind with a startling clarity of thought and vision to writing his most memorable work: Paradise Lost.

This day you must decide what you will do with the daylight that God has given you. How will your light be spent not just today or tomorrow, for but for all your days until you see the Light with eyes unfettered?

PRAYER: Lord, I want to spent the light you have given me in worthy pursuits until you call me home. Help me not to grow weary in the journey or waste the hours and days you have given to me. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Copyright 2016 by Galen C. Dalrymple. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

