DayBreaks for 8/12/16 – Worry

DayBreaks for 8/12/16 – Worry

From the DayBreaks Archive for August, 2006:

 “The same God that gave us commandments such as “Do not commit adultery, do not murder” said, “Do not worry.”  It’s a violation of our relationship to God to question His authority by worrying.

“Has any good ever come out of any worrying that you’ve ever done?  Worry only compartmentalizes us and makes us unable to do what we set out to do.  If you are worried about a problem, what you need to do is simply trust the Lord and do good.

“The word worry comes from a word that means ‘to divide’.  When you worry, you divide your energy.  Do you worry?  I worry about you if you don’t worry!  All of us worry, but we shouldn’t.  Jesus commands us half a dozen times, “Do not worry.”  When we worry about a situation, the problem gets us instead of us getting it.

“Jesus is not afraid of the things that cause us fear.  He never said, “Don’t bring your fears to me – I’m too busy.”  Instead he said, “I’m not afraid of the things that cause you fear.  Bring your fears to me.” – The Inspirational Study Bible

Galen’s Thoughts:

Worry, worry, worry.  Sometimes it seems like that’s all we do.  I tend to worry about financial things.  How will we pay the bills?  How will our daughter be able to go to college?  What will we do now that the air compressor on the air conditioner went out?  What would we do if the car breaks down – how will we pay for the repairs?  What if the pain in our son’s neck never goes away?  What if the local church body doesn’t grow? 

But you know, I can’t think of a single positive result that has ever come from any of my worrying.  I can control neither future events nor the components in my car by worrying about them.

I may be able to hide them from other people and they may never know that I’m worried.  I’m pretty good about hiding my worries – I’ve had plenty of practice to perfect my technique!  But I can’t hide them from God.  I need to confess my worry as sin before Him, accept my forgiveness and learn to trust Him.  After all, hasn’t He already promised to meet my needs?  Yes.  Ah, but I must be content to live with His definition of my needs and sometimes I don’t want to have to do that – I want to insist on my own definition!  I may decide something is a need and He thinks it’s just a “want”!  Am I willing to sacrifice it to Him?

In the sermon on the mount Jesus reminded us of our Father’s care for us – of our incredible value to him, of our value compared to that of a flower which is clothed beautifully – yet it doesn’t toil, worry or spin.  Why am I so driven to worry?  I’m lacking in trust and so I worry.  Perhaps it’s because I’ve been let down by people, and since God is a Person inasmuch as we are made in His image, I might be tempted to think that He’ll let me down, too.  Not so.  If He is with each dying sparrow as it draws its last breath, I can count on Him being with me.  If He has promised to help me, I need not fear or worry. 

What are you worrying about today?  Will you lay it on the altar of the Lord and sacrifice it to Him right now and decide never to pick it up again?  Find His peace!

PRAYER: Lord, how much better our lives would be if we truly trusted You instead of trying to manage our own lives and destinies.  Help us each day to grow in faith and trust in Your goodness and love for us.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Copyright 2016, Galen C. Dalrymple. All rights reserved.

 

Leave a Reply

