DayBreaks for 6/29/16 – The Birthday Boy Ponders Life

DayBreaks for 6/29/16 – The Birthday Boy Ponders Life

Galen is on vacation. From the DayBreaks archive, June 2006:

Sixty-four years ago today, I emerged into a world that was locked in a Cold War, the Yankees were the dominant force in professional sports, and my parents welcomed me into their growing family (I’m really not sure how my sister felt about me at that exact moment, though.)  They took me home to the little farm house in Greene County, Iowa, that I would know as home for the first 9-10 years of my life.  I didn’t think much about life when I was young.  After all, why should I?  It stretched out like I-80 through Nevada – as far as one could see – with no end in sight, not even a bend in the road. 

But life isn’t really like that, is it?  There are things that make us focus a bit more on life itself as we get older.  A classmate in your senior year who has their life snuffed out one Saturday night by a drunk driver.  A friend whose car is struck crossing a railroad track – with near fatal results.  A move from one state to another with the broken hearts of all involved for friends left behind.  The simple reality is that life is full of nothing but bendy roads, and the road has a very definite end – we just can’t see it very often.

As I contemplate my life today, I think that I’m beginning to see where the road may end.  At least, I know for sure that there will be a DEAD END sign in my future.  And that, is a good thing to know, isn’t it?  I don’t know when I’ll come around a corner and see that sign, but it is good to know that it will show up.  I wouldn’t have always said that, because as a typical younger person, I was too busy living life to contemplate the alternative – and I had no interest or desire to die.  I still enjoy life – I love it, in fact, but the alternative to life in this world for believers is not at all bad.  Not bad at all.  I think, however, that the key to coming to that contentment is found as “the alternative to life in this world…”.  This world just isn’t that pretty of a place anymore.  When you can begin to hear the sounds of the heavenly chorus, and you learn that you can never be good enough, wise enough, righteous enough and as a result you throw yourself totally upon His mercy and love, there is a peace that is inconceivable.  It’s not even a resigned reluctance, but more of an eager anticipation for the journey ahead.

But for today, or this moment at least, I’m here until my Father calls me home.  That means that it’s still His will for me to be here – and for you to be here, too.  He’s got something for us yet to do before we go home.  But if the story of the 5 wise and 5 foolish virgins says anything to us, it should tell us that we need to keep our bags packed and ready to go at a moment’s notice.

Matthew 25:13 (NIV) – Therefore keep watch, because you do not know the day or the hour. 

PRAYER:  God, with each day, help us to have our bags packed a little more fully, a little more completely, so that when You do come for us, we will not only be found ready, but eager, to go with You.  Thank You for the forgiveness that assures us of Your love.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Copyright 2016, Galen C. Dalrymple. All rights reserved.

4 thoughts on “DayBreaks for 6/29/16 – The Birthday Boy Ponders Life

  1. Well stated Galen. Your thoughts express my same feelings, and your journey parallels mine in many ways. I look forward to spending time with you reflecting on some of our common experiences…if not in this life, then in the next.

    On Wed, Jun 29, 2016 at 1:10 AM, DayBreaks Devotions wrote:

    > Galen posted: ” DayBreaks for 6/29/16 – The Birthday Boy Ponders Life > Galen is on vacation. From the DayBreaks archive, June 2006: Sixty-four > years ago today, I emerged into a world that was locked in a Cold War, the > Yankees were the dominant force in professional spor” >

Leave a Reply

