DayBreaks for 6/21/16 – In the Smallest Detail, Delight

DayBreaks for 6/21/16 – In the Smallest Detail, Delight

From the DayBreaks archive, June 2006:

Psalms 37:23-24 (NLT) – The steps of the godly are directed by the LORD. He delights in every detail of their lives.  Though they stumble, they will not fall, for the LORD holds them by the hand.

Mornings are not kind to me.  I don’t like them.  I get tired of having to shave every day.  I get tired of having to pay the bills each month.  I get tired of how fast my hair is turning a lighter shade somewhat akin to gray.  I get tired of having to pay for gasoline, of having to go through the same routines of life, day in, day out, week in, week out.  Somewhat like Solomon of old (though far less wise than he!), I can find life to be monotonous.  The myriad of details is stupefying.

What a contrast to my heavenly Father!  Psalm 37:23 says that rather than finding my life boring and dull, He delights in “every detail”.  How can I grasp this?  Is there anything in my human experience that enables me to begin to understand this intense interest and joy that He finds in my life?

Perhaps it works like this: I can sit and watch my grandchildren for hours on end.  I wouldn’t need to say a word, nor would they.  It doesn’t matter if they’re awake or asleep (although, there are times when the quiet of their sleep-filled breathing is welcome!), playing or eating, sitting or standing, jumping or rolling on the floor.  I am captivated and fascinated by them.  And I felt the same things about their parents before them – and I still do.  I could sit in a room with my kids and never say a word and be perfectly delighted just to be near them, to be able to see them.

I think that God delights in every detail of my life – and yours – in the same way.  We don’t have to be climbing Mount Everest or binding the hands of Satan for His delight to rest upon us.  He delights in watching each breath we take – whether we’re awake or asleep.  He loves to watch us eat and enjoy the flavors of the food.  He loves to watch me shave in the morning and comb my hair (subtracting in His heavenly record book the number of hairs that fall out each day!)  He loves to watch me paying the bills.  Why?  For one reason: He loves me.  He never leaves my side because He doesn’t want to miss a single event, a single miniscule detail of my life.  How do I know?  Because I’d do the same if I were Him.  I’d never have my kids or grandkids or wife or dogs out of my sight – not for an instant if I had the choice and power – not because I have to watch over and worry about their safety, but for the sheer delight of beholding them each moment of each day. 

I fear we frequently lose the wonder and delight that God put in us about life itself. 

God delights in you.  He is delighting in even the smallest parts of your life that you may think is the least significant thing you’ll do all day.  Every word.  Every detail.  Isn’t it awesome to have a Father that loves us so?

PRAYER:  What love you have poured out upon us, Father!  Help us this day to see life a bit more like You see it rather than the way we usually see it.  May this day be a majestic wonder as we take each step, breathe each breath, because we know You are watching, and You are delighted in us!  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Copyright 2016, Galen C. Dalrymple. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

