DayBreaks for 5/26/16 – Of Clouds and Charlie Brown

DayBreaks for 5/26/16 – Of Clouds and Charlie Brown

Sometime ago in the “Peanuts” comic strip as Lucy, Linus, and Charlie Brown looked up to the sky, Lucy said, “You can see lots of things in the clouds.” Then turning to her companions, she asked “What do you see, Linus?”

“Well,” he said, “those clouds up there look to me like the map of Belize, the little nation in the Caribbean.” Glancing in a different direction, “That cloud looks a little like the profile of Thomas Eakins, the famous painter and sculptor. And that cloud formation over there gives me the impression of the stoning of Steven; why I can see Saul of Tarsus standing to one side.”

“Uh huh,” gasped Lucy, “That’s good.” “And, what do you see Charlie Brown?” Clearing his throat, Charlie timidly replies, “Oh, I was going to say I saw a ducky and a horsie, but I’ve changed my mind.”

You may smile at Charlie Brown. Yet in a more profound way, he reminds me of the first disciples of Christ who had a hard time stretching their faith to see the coming of the Kingdom of God and the spiritual harvest around them. And in that way Charlie Brown also reminds me of me.

As I look around, I can either get discouraged thinking that the Kingdom of God is on a losing streak or I can choose to see these days as times of perhaps unprecedented opportunity for spiritual harvest.

And that leads to the next question: how am I gifted by the Spirit to engage in the harvest? We are all expected to be part of the great army of harvesters. We may not be the reapers – we may be sowers – but we are all to be engaged. We can’t, nor should we, wait until Jesus appears on his white horse to lead us into an engagement with the forces of darkness…we are to do it now – while we await his return.

What do you see when you look around you?

Let’s all commit ourselves to doing something each day to contribute to the harvest of souls.

Matthew 9:35 (NLTse) – Jesus traveled through all the towns and villages of that area, teaching in the synagogues and announcing the Good News about the Kingdom. And he healed every kind of disease and illness. When he saw the crowds, he had compassion on them because they were confused and helpless, like sheep without a shepherd. He said to his disciples, “The harvest is great, but the workers are few. So pray to the Lord who is in charge of the harvest; ask him to send more workers into his fields.”

PRAYER: Jesus, I know that I can get so tied up in the business of each day that I seldom think about how white the fields are for harvest. Open my eyes to see how abundant it is and to understand the role you want me to play in it! In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Copyright 2016, Galen C. Dalrymple. All rights reserved.

 

Leave a Reply

