DayBreaks for 5/13/16 – Who’s Gonna Drive?

DayBreaks for 5/13/16 – Who’s Gonna Drive?

NOTE: Galen will be out of the office and traveling next week. 

From the DayBreaks archive, May 2006:

NEW YORK (Bizarre News, 5/2006) – “A retired teacher who visited the graves of her loved ones every day was struck and killed by her own car while visiting a New York cemetery. Evanglistia Vartholomeou, 76, emigrated to the United States from Greece in 1965 and regularly visited the graves of her brother, sister, mother and a nephew, who died of cancer at the age of 3 in 1979.  Niece Katherine Vartholomeou told the New York Post her aunt spent her life caring for family and apparently left her car in drive at Maple Grove Cemetery in Kew Gardens by mistake.”

I remember when I was taking driver’s education so very, very long ago (yes, we had to take driver’s ed in order to get a license to ride a horse – NOT!)  There was a device that was intended to measure how quickly you could respond to a light changing from green to yellow.  I was, speaking modestly, pretty fast!  I always have felt that I’m a pretty good driver.  I know that I have some bad habits that I’ve allowed to creep into my driving over the past few years that I should correct, but by the grace of God, I’ve never had a serious accident at all.  I pray that will continue to be the case.

Sometimes, when I’m going somewhere with someone, we’ll have a bit of a debate about who’s going to drive.  If it is someone that I’ve not ridden with before and I don’t know what their driving is like, I’m more likely to say “I’ll drive!” or trust the directions to Waze or Google Maps.  Rightly or wrongly, I trust my own driving.

But when it comes to going somewhere in a city that I’ve never been before, I’m more than ready to cede control of the car to someone who’s been there and knows the way.  I trust that they’ll get me there or I wouldn’t get in the car with them. 

In the case of Ms. Vartholomeou, she forgot a couple key things.  She forgot to put her car in park and she failed to put on the parking brake.  The car thought she was in control still and it just did what cars will do under those circumstances – it went with the flow of gravity. 

As we travel through life, going from one destination to another, we need to get out from behind the wheel and let Jesus take control.  Consider the advantages: he’s been there, he knows where it is safe and where it is dangerous, he never takes wrong turns and he definitely won’t run over us. 

Are you still trying to navigate your own way through life?  Stop.  Put your life in park, put on the brake, get out of the driver’s seat and let Jesus take you where he wants you to go.

PRAYER:  We have tried for years, God, to make our own way and we’ve paid a huge price for it.  Help us to humble ourselves enough to admit that we are lost, that we cannot navigate our way through life without You.  We ask you to take full control of our past, present and future direction to lead us safely home.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Copyright 2016, Galen C. Dalrymple. All rights reserved.

 

 

Leave a Reply

