DayBreaks for 5/09/16 – More Like Love

DayBreaks for 5/09/16 – More Like Love

This past Wednesday night I heard the song, More Like Love, for the very first time.  The lyrics express the desire of my heart as I grow older. I could identify with the verses that talk about all the things that I have wanted and hoped for in my younger days…and found that to whatever extent I gained such things, that they were all smoke and mirrors, at best dancing illusions intended to captivate and entrap us, yet never yielding the longed for satisfaction.

Consider the words of the song (by Ben Rector), and then listen to it – be blessed and challenged.

I used to think I wanted to be famous
I’d be recognized out in a crowd
But the funny thing is anytime I’ve gotten what I want
It lets me down.

 But now I just wanna look more like love
I just wanna look more like love.
This whole world is spinning crazy
And I can’t quite keep up
It’s the one thing around here
That we don’t have quite enough of
So I just wanna look a little more
Like love.

 I used to think I needed all the answers
I used to need to know I was right
I used to be afraid of things I couldn’t cover up
In black and white.

But I just want look more like love
I just wanna look more like love

This whole world is spinning crazy
And I can’t quite keep up
It’s the one thing around here
That we don’t have quite enough of
So I just wanna look a little more
Like love.

 I find the farther that I climb
There’s always another line
Of mountain tops
It’s never going to stop
And the more of anything I do
The thing that always ends up true
Is getting what I want
Will never be enough.

 So I just wanna look more like love
I just wanna look more like love.
This whole world is spinning crazy
I can’t quite keep up.
It’s the one thing around here
That we don’t have quite enough of
So I just wanna look a little more
Like love.

Like love.

 I want to look more like love…and less like myself. I want to look more like love. I want to look more like Jesus.

 Listen to the Youtube of More Like Love

 PRAYER: Jesus, I want to look less like myself and more like You. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Copyright 2016, Galen C. Dalrymple. All rights reserved.

 

Leave a Reply

