DayBreaks for 4/28/16 – What I Struggle to Believe

DayBreaks for 4/28/16 – What I Struggle to Believe

I suppose all of us have our struggles with faith. It seems to be a fairly normal part of the human condition. There are those who don’t believe in a Creator but who choose to believe that somehow, something came out of nothing and exploded with tremendous force without an apparent cause. This would seem to contradict the laws of cause and effect and it certainly doesn’t explain how something (matter) came to exist in the first place. But that’s not what this is about.

You see, I, and most Christians I know, don’t really struggle to believe in a Creator – the God of the Bible. We may hold different opinions on how God did that which He did do – was it via a big bang that He created the universe (after creating the matter) or did He do it some other way? True believers have differences of opinion on that, but true believers also believe in a Creator.

I have no problem believing in the Creator. None whatsoever. That which exists just won’t let me deny His work in creation. So what is it that I have a hard time believing?  Read on.

I struggle to believe that in this vast created universe, that God even knows that I exist, and even more so, that not only does He know I exist, He loves me and cares about me.

What is it that makes me feel or doubt those things?

For the first subject, I suspect that running the universe in all its immensity and complexity, is a big, BIG job. God Himself said as much in Job. He doesn’t say that it is a job that is too big for Him – not at all!  But can you imagine how big of a job it must be? I know when I’m very busy, I don’t think that often about other people – even those most important to me. I get caught up in my work and thinking about it. So, I am really imposing my own human limitations on an unlimited being when I think He’s too busy to notice me.

As to the second point, even if He does know I exist somewhere in the vastness of the universe, why should He care about me and love me? Ah, now there’s the rub, isn’t it? What have I done to commend myself to Him and His good will? Nothing, really. Sure, I know that Scripture says I am made in His image, but what a flawed image of Him I reflect! But, Scripture says it – and even more than that – Christ’s crucifixion is proof of it!

You see, what we struggle to believe most of all is the truth that we can see on Calvary through the eyes of faith. What a truth it is! It is our challenge to believe it, accept it and be forever grateful for it!

Isaiah 43:1 (NLTse) – But now, O Jacob, listen to the LORD who created you. O Israel, the one who formed you says, “Do not be afraid, for I have ransomed you, I have called you by name; you are mine.”

PRAYER: Father, You know our struggle with faith and how because of our sinfulness we struggle to believe You love us. I am thankful that our little faith doesn’t threaten You or cause You to love us less. Let us accept the wonderful truth that You are aware that we are here in the vastness of space and that You love us enough that You died for us to prove it to us! In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Copyright 2016, Galen C. Dalrymple. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

