DayBreaks for 4/25/16 – Insecure?

DayBreaks for 4/25/16 – Insecure?

If you are an honest human, you’ve probably awakened from time to time with a heart full of insecurity. If may have been about something you needed to do but didn’t feel competent enough to do. It have to do with not feeling safe. You know what you hope the outcome of things will be, but you fear that you won’t get that outcome. So, if you are like me, you can wallow in those feelings for a while: insecurity and fear.

Psalm 16 is great medicine for those times:

The Lord is my chosen portion and my cup; you hold my lot. The lines have fallen for me in pleasant places; indeed, I have a beautiful inheritance. I bless the Lord who gives me counsel; in the night also my heart instructs me. I have set the Lord always before me; because he is at my right hand, I shall not be shaken. Therefore my heart is glad, and my whole being rejoices; my flesh also dwells secure. For you will not abandon my soul to Sheol, or let your holy one see corruption. You make known to me the path of life; in y our presence there is fullness of joy; at your right hand are pleasure forevermore.

Now, isn’t that better than wallowing in insecurity? We have so much to be thankful for: 1) the Lord holds our lot; 2) we have a beautiful inheritance; 3) in His presence there is fullness of joy.

That’s all GREAT news! No, it doesn’t change our circumstances. The outcome may indeed not be what we are hoping for in the short run, but in the long run we have pleasures forevermore.

As we travel through tough times we do have a choice. We can give in to despair and let fear run rampant, or we can say to our soul, “I will not be shaken!” When we do, by the Spirit’s power, we can move forward.

Are you struggling today? I am not making light of your struggles or suggesting a trite, formulaic remedy. The struggle is HARD. Hurts are REAL. Don’t think I’m not aware of how real those are and how deep your pain may be right now. I’m simply trying to share something with you today that may be helpful while you are in your pain.

Security isn’t found in ignoring reality. It is found in holding on to the greatest Reality in existence – Jesus – and knowing He holds us!

PRAYER: Lord, I suspect that today we will all face some insecurities – some relatively minor while others may be truly, deeply struggling. Help us to remember that our lot is not dependent on the roll of the dice, but that YOU hold our lot in Your Almighty hand. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Copyright 2016, Galen C. Dalrymple. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

