DayBreaks for 2/23/16 – Lead Us to Calvary

DayBreaks for 2/23/16: Lead Us to Calvary

Galen is traveling. Today’s message is from the DayBreaks archive, 2006:

There is a wonderful old hymn, “Lead Me to Calvary.”  Three of the verses go like this:

King of my life I crown Thee now, Thine shall the glory be

Lest I forget Thy thorn-crowned brow, Lead me to Calvary.

Lest I forget Gethsemane, Lest I forget Thine agony,

Lest I forget Thy love for me, Lead me to Calvary.

Show me the tomb where Thou was laid, Tenderly mourned and wept;

Angels in robes of light arrayed, Guarded Thee whilst Thou slept.

Lest I forget Gethsemane, Lest I forget Thine agony,

Lest I forget Thy love for me, Lead me to Calvary.

May I be willing, Lord to bear daily my cross for Thee;

Even thy cup of grief to share, Thou has borne all for me.

Lest I forget Gethsemane, Lest I forget Thine agony,

Lest I forget Thy love for me, Lead me to Calvary.

“Lead us to Calvary.  There are two ways to go there.  One way is to go as spectators, there for the show, not acknowledging our complicity in any way.  The other way is to go as penitent sinners, knowing our need for Christ even as we acknowledge our acquiescence in his death.” – Fleming Rutledge, The Undoing of Death

How long has it been since you’ve gone to Calvary – not as a spectator, but as a penitent?  What is there today that you need to repent of?  What will you nail to the cross today?

TODAY’S PRAYER:  Jesus, we have much to repent of.  Already today, we’ve been impatient, anxious, envious, perhaps angry, lustful and bitter.  Don’t let those things live in our hearts, Lord.  Lead us ever so gently to your cross that we may fall on our knees in humility and repentance.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Copyright 2016, all rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

