DayBreaks for 2/18/16 – The Real Story

DayBreaks for 2/18/16: The Real Story

From the DayBreaks archive, February 2006:

I love a good story!  I love stories of high adventure stories, historical stories, amusing anecdotes and just about any other kind of story you can think of.  We grew up on stories: Snow White, Goldilocks and the Three Bears, The Little Engine that Could, and of course a myriad of Aesop’s fables and other tall tales.  One of my favorite stories to read to my grand kids (and my children before them) was Dr. Seuss’ Fox in Socks.  Stories capture our imagination and we can visualize the action and feelings of those involved in the story. 

We also love to tell stories.  I love to tell stories about my family – about the adventures of our kids, their achievements, the things we did together and places we went to visit.  And, let’s be honest: we even love to tell stories about our surgeries and our experiences in that regard!  Stories help us learn and can help others avoid some of the same mistakes we’ve made in our own lives.

The first one of the world’s great books that I read was Miguel Cervantes’ Don Quixote.  I read it when I was in high school, and I was totally entranced.  I tried to picture myself as Don Quixote – who although he may have been more than a bit addled – had great dreams and visions and ambitions – and I found myself dreaming, with him, the Impossible Dream – and thinking I could make it come true. 

As Andree Seu writes in World Magazine, There is nothing more tragic than to walk around all your life in the wrong story – thinking yourself a knight-errant and mistaking windmills for giants, skinny stable horses for noble Rosinante, and unexceptional peasant girls for Dulcinea.

Some of the stories that we invest ourselves in aren’t worth our time.  Rather than getting caught up in stories about ourselves and our achievements.  Ms. Seu continued: Reminding yourself of the real story is good for what ails you.  If you’ve gotten too high and mighty, it reminds you that you are ‘dust.’  If you’re feeling like dust, it reminds you of your glorious destiny.

I hope and pray that we will become participants in the Great Story, the Unending Story that will be told, retold and sung about throughout eternal ages without end.  That story, you see, isn’t about me.  It’s not about my kids.  It’s not about you.  It’s about the Lamb that was slain, but Who lives forevermore.  That’s the real story that we need to be a part of.  

Each day our lives write another chapter in the story of humanity and more particularly, of our own lives.  What will your chapter look like at the end of the day today?

TODAY’S PRAYER:  How deceived we are, Father, when we think that the story of our life is about us!  Help us to engage in the Real Story, to live it, to tell it, and to enjoy it forever in the halls of Your heaven.  Let us tell THAT story every chance we get.  In Jesus’ name, Amen. 

Copyright 2016, all rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

