DayBreaks for 2/16/16 – Death Was Arrested

DayBreaks for 2/16/16: Death Was Arrested

There is a wonderful new Christian song out there titled Death Was Arrested. Brandon Coker was describing it to some of his friends, describing how he was walking through a cemetery when he came across a tombstone with these words engraved into it: Here rests what was mortal of Samuel Burr, Age 42. In search of health far from his endeared home, death arrested his progress on 2nd of April 1831. Quietly he fell asleep in the Christian hope of immortality and glory forever. Oh the vanity of man in his best estate. Traveler pause and drop a tear at a grave of one so highly worthy and so deeply lamented and learn wisdom for eternity.

The phrase, “death arrested his progress” stirred the imagination and led to contemplation of how in this world death does, indeed, arrest progress…sooner or later, we shall all experience the end of our earthly “progress”.

That, however, needs to be balance and contrasted with what Christ did on the cross. Through his death, he arrested death and overcame it…and though we will all still die, we have his promise from John 11:25-26 (NLT) – Jesus told her, “I am the resurrection and the life. Anyone who believes in me will live, even after dying. Everyone who lives in me and believes in me will never ever die. Do you believe this, Martha?”  

The lyrics to the song, and the link to the song, are the rest of today’s DayBreaks. Be blessed!

V1: Alone in my sorrow dead in my sin
Lost without hope with no place to begin
Your love Made a way to let mercy come in
When death was arrested and my life began
V2: Ash was redeemed only beauty remains
My orphan heart was given a name
My mourning grew quiet my feet rose to dance
When death was arrested and my life began
CHORUS
Oh your grace so free
Washes over me
You have made me new
Now life begins with you
It’s your endless love
Pouring down on us
You have made us new
Now life begins with you
V3: Released from my chains I’m a prisoner no more
My shame was a ransom he faithfully bore
He cancelled my debt and he called me his friend
When death was arrested and my life began
V4: Our savior displayed on a criminal’s cross
Darkness rejoiced as though heaven had lost
But then Jesus arose with our freedom in hand
That’s when death was arrested and my life began
That’s when death was arrested and my life began
POST CHORUS:
Oh we’re free free
Forever we’re free
Come join the song
Of all the redeemed
Yes we’re free free
Forever amen
When death was arrested

And my life began.

Link to listen to this song: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m1fEJC0JtBw 

TODAY’S PRAYER: Thank you, Jesus, for defeating death and giving life to those who were dead! In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Copyright 2016, all rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

