DayBreaks for 2/12/16 – Road Kill or the Bread of Life?

DayBreaks for 2/12/16: Road Kill or the Bread of Life?

From the DayBreaks archive, February 2006:

Bizarre News, 2/1/06: CORNWALL, England – A retired British civil servant is writing a cook book about his passion of more than 50 years – road kill. Arthur Boyt, 66, of Cornwall, England, said he has eaten dead animals he found along the roadside since he was 13. “It’s good meat for free and I know nobody has been messing with it and feeding it hormones,” Boyt told Sky News.  “I’ve been doing it all my life and never been ill once,” he told The Guardian. Boyt, whose favorite snack is a badger sandwich, said he is putting his recipes in a road kill cookbook and has been invited to join celebrity chef Gordon Ramsay later this year.  

I’ve been told that in Texas there is a restaurant, perhaps a chain, called the Roadkill Café.  I really don’t know what they serve there, and I don’t know if I really do want to know.  I doubt that they really serve road kill.  I hope not.

It seems to me that we are creatures who prefer road kill to the Manna that comes from heaven.  People I know who have been around church for years, but who have never made a decision for Christ, are somewhat like Arthur Boyt.  A feast has been prepared, but they continue to eat road kill.  Why?  Because “road kill” doesn’t cost anything – Christianity does.  Jesus told his followers over and over and over again that Christianity is costly – it’ll cost you everything you have, including losing your life if you want to find life. 

And so, not wanting to pay the price, people keep eating road kill.  They feel like they’ve been eating it for so long ant it’s never “hurt” them.  That may be…or at least it may appear to be true.  But you know what?  It only takes eating bad food once and you may die.  The day will come when road kill isn’t available any longer, and those who have never taken in the Bread of Life will wish that they’d changed their diets. 

Mr. Boyt says that he knows no one has been messing with road kill.  Jesus died so we don’t have to eat that trash any longer.  From a spiritual standpoint, it is the Word of God which will endure forever – and we can know that no one has messed with the Word!

John 6:51-58 NLT –I am the living bread that came down out of heaven. Anyone who eats this bread will live forever; this bread is my flesh, offered so the world may live.”  Then the people began arguing with each other about what he meant. “How can this man give us his flesh to eat?” they asked.  So Jesus said again, “I assure you, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink his blood, you cannot have eternal life within you.   But those who eat my flesh and drink my blood have eternal life, and I will raise them at the last day.  For my flesh is the true food, and my blood is the true drink.  All who eat my flesh and drink my blood remain in me, and I in them.  I live by the power of the living Father who sent me; in the same way, those who partake of me will live because of me.  I am the true bread from heaven. Anyone who eats this bread will live forever and not die as your ancestors did, even though they ate the manna. 

TODAY’S PRAYER:  Jesus, we are so prone to settle for less than you offer to us.  We are content with road kill when You are the bread that gives us life.  May we take your life into us, so that we may live in your power forever.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Copyright 2016, all rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

