DayBreaks for 1/27/16 – Carry Them Forever

DayBreaks for 1/27/16: Carry Them Forever

From the DayBreaks archive, January 2006:

Scripture: Ps 28:9 – Save your people!  Bless Israel, your special possession!  Lead them like a shepherd, and carry them forever in your arms.

I love the imagery of being carried forever in the arms of someone as loving, kind and strong as the Lord.  It reminds me of when I was very small and my own dad would carry me, or of how I felt when I carried my own little ones in my arms.  No one was going to take them from me against my will – I would fight fiercely for them or die for them if necessary. 

But now that I’m grown up, I internally sustain the notion that I’m not supposed to be carried any more, that I’m supposed to be a “big boy” and walk on my own two feet.  How foolish!  How much better off we’d be if we allowed Jesus to carry us!!!  And that’s the image the Psalmist presents to us. 

I realize that I need to become more humble in all aspects of my life.  I must surrender my human pride that causes me to think that I can wrestle with life’s problems all by myself.  How foolish to think that I have the strength that is necessary!  I must get over the thinking that says I’m smart and intelligent enough to figure out the answers on my own.  And as a man, I must get over the “gender barrier” about being held in the arms of another male – even one was powerful and strong as the Lion of the tribe of Judah.  In many more things I need to ask His guidance and wisdom before making decisions that may seem right to me, for I fear and know that far too many of the decisions I make on my own are wrong and misguided. 

Lord, pick me up!  I’m ready! 

TODAY’S PRAYER:  We thank you, Lord Jesus, for Your leadership.  We thank you that when we get too tired, or too confused, or when we’re hurting too badly to walk on our own, that you take us in Your arms and you carry us to places of rest and safety.  Let us not lean to our own understanding or trust in our own strength, for we shall surely fail if we do so.  Help us instead to run to You.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Copyright 2016, all rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

