DayBreaks for 1/6/16 – Why Should I Tremble?

DayBreaks for 1/6/16: Why Should I Tremble?

Galen is out of the country. While he is gone, you will be receiving DayBreaks from the DayBreaks archive from January, 2006.

Ps 27:1 – The LORD is my light and my salvation — so why should I be afraid?  The LORD protects me from danger — so why should I tremble?

It all sounds so simple when you read it – especially when it’s someone else that is saying it.  It’s easy to make those statements (“The Lord is my light and my salvation, so why should I be afraid?  The Lord protects me from danger, so why should I tremble?”), but when we hear the snarling of life and the monsters that live nearby (and within us!), we are often afraid and we tremble. 

I wonder if David was making a statement that he didn’t react that way, or if he was legitimately asking the question: Why is it that I DO tremble?  “The Lord protects me from danger” is such a broad sweeping statement that it often seems to us to fly in the face of reality, but that’s probably because we can’t even begin to see Him fully at work.  We need otherworldly eyes to be able to accept such a statement at face value. 

But what good is a God that only protects us from ultimate evil in eternity?  Certainly, there is great value in it – and if we had to choose protection in one life or the next, well, if we’re wise we’d chose the protection for the life to come and say “good riddance” to this life when it is done.  But it really isn’t a “one or the other” situation, is it?  We just need to learn to recognize God’s protection in this life.  Perhaps we’d do well to visualize it: the car crash we could have been in, the protection from disease if we’ve experience it, the protection from financial ruin, from starvation – and of course the spiritual things as well: protection from shame, guilt, despair. 

Yes, God protects us from danger.  David didn’t claim God protected him from all danger – and we shouldn’t make that assumption, either.  David knew plenty of danger in this life – he was a warrior and a king, but also a refugee who knew great pain and suffering.  But somehow, even in the midst of that, he could visualize that life could have been much worse but it wasn’t because “the Lord protects me from danger.”

I need to visualize God’s actions and protective hand upon and around me much more than I do.  I don’t believe it’ll lead to paranoia, for I must realize that in His wisdom He sees more dangers than I and even keeps me from seeing things in advance that might break me if they were revealed to me too early – when I am not yet mature or grown up enough to handle them.  I should analyze why it is that I tremble – and then look at how God has dealt with those things before in my life and in history.  Then, perhaps, I can come to the point at which David found himself – where the fear and trembling are replaced by such confidence in God’s protection and deliverance.

TODAY’S PRAYER:  Heavenly Father, we are such a fearful people.  The fear-inducing demons that fill our heads seem to come in an endless procession.  They seem huge and insurmountable and far too many to deal with.  Help us each time that our knees start to shake to remember that You are our Light, our Salvation and our Deliverer.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

