DayBreaks for 1/5/16 – Put Me On Trial, Lord!

DayBreaks for 1/5/16: Put Me On Trial, Lord!

Galen is out of the country. While he is gone, you will be receiving DayBreaks from the DayBreaks archive from January, 2006.

Ps 26:1-3 – Declare me innocent, O LORD, for I have acted with integrity; I have trusted in the LORD without wavering.  2 Put me on trial, LORD, and cross-examine me.  Test my motives and affections.   3 For I am constantly aware of your unfailing love, and I have lived according to your truth.

I must confess that when I read the third verse of Psalm 26, I am stunned by the seeming haughty attitude of the Psalmist about his uprightness.  I can’t comprehend how someone could be so bold before the Lord about their righteousness.  It is almost the same as Job’s defense of himself to his friends.  Why is this so shocking to me?  Is it just because I’m so far from being a righteous person that I would quake with fear to utter such statements in the Presence of the Almighty, Holy God?  Or was David just having a mountain-top experience when this was written?  Could my heart withstand a true testing by the Lord of my motives AND my affections?  What would he see?  I need to remember that he constantly tests my motives and affections, not so that He knows what they are, but so that they will be revealed to me.

Perhaps the key is in the first verse: David isn’t really claiming that he is innocent – he’s asking the Lord to declare him as innocent, not because he IS innocent, but because David has acted with integrity.  This seems to indicate that David was acknowledging the deep heart’s desire to do right and to realize that this is what God was truly interested in.  The third verse and the statement about being constantly aware of God’s unfailing love is not tied grammatically to the last statement (I have lived according to your truth), but is simply a statement that perhaps allowed David to make the statements of verse 1, knowing that regardless, he was loved by God and that God loved him too much to pronounce him guilty and hopeless.

I need to apply my heart to letting God change it so that I could, possibly, someday be in such a relationship with God that I could utter such words with the kind of confidence and feeling that David does.  But it seems that it would be boastful – perhaps because I realize it would also be hypocritical of me.  I really have a hard time identifying with David’s words for I see my own heart is so “other” than David’s heart.  Perhaps this is why David was called a man after God’s own heart.  I pray that someday, I may be such a man.  Of course, the simple truth is that not one of us could ever stand before God in our own righteousness, but only in that which comes from the Light of the World.

TODAY’S PRAYER: Lord, in the deepest recesses of our souls, we do want to please You.  We want to walk in obedience and friendship with You.  But Lord, our sins are ever before us and we are clothed in the filthy rags of even our best righteous deeds.  I believe in the cleansing of the blood of Jesus in my life, but how I struggle with my motives and affections, that seem to run hither, thither and yon after every temptation.  Help us to become people of one mind and heart that is fully locked in pursuit of You.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Copyright 2016, all rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

