DayBreaks for 12/21/15 – Sleep in Heavenly Peace

DayBreaks for 12/21/15: Sleep in Heavenly Peace

From the DayBreaks archive, 2005:

I’ve written before about watching my grand kids sleep – or my kids, when they were little.  In fact, I just got a great picture that I took of my grandson, Charlie, sleeping in his little bed in his room.  Why does it move me so?  I don’t know, but I know that when I see them sleeping, my heart just melts.

Charlie is now a bit over 2-1/2 years old, and he’s quite the little man.  He just had his first appearance in a Christmas pageant.  I must say that he was the cutest sheep I’ve ever seen.  Now here’s something you need to understand: Charlie isn’t bashful.  The kids were supposed to stand on one of the steps, but all of them were too afraid to do so, that is, except for Charlie.  So, Charlie was standing in front of all the other kids on the step as they sang their Christmas songs.  Or, it might be more accurate to say “As Charlie sang their Christmas songs.”  And at the end of each song when the members would clap for the little ones, Charlie joined right in with the joyful clapping, a smile on his face that would brighten Carlsbad Caverns. 

But, all the excitement did finally get to him, however.  After the pageant was over and the party was finished afterwards, Charlie and his family went home, and as little Charlie lay down to sleep, he said to his parents, “I want to sleep in heavenly peace.”

Charlie knows what it is to sleep in heavenly peace – at least what it means to a 2-1/2 year old.  The question strikes me, “Do we know what it means to sleep in heavenly peace?”  It’s the kind of peace that has its source in heaven itself, the kind of peace that characterizes heaven, and if we were to sleep in heaven, it would be the kind of peace that characterizes our sleep.  No more of this waking up in the middle of the night when we hear a strange sound, or when the worries about our finances or schedule or obligations comes bubbling up through our unconscious mind to awaken us to the nightmares that walk our minds in the wee, dark hours of the night and which stir us to consciousness.

As I think about this past year, my brother-in-law passed away, my father-in-law passed away, and I was able to spend time with those who were dying as they passed from this world to the next.  Friends who I didn’t even have last year at this time are now gone – at home with the Lord. 

It’s a busy time of the year, a cacophony of sounds, smells, events – and we desperately need to sleep in heavenly peace.  May the peace that heaven proclaimed with the Messiah’s birth be with you tonight as you sleep, watched over by the One who watched over the baby in the manger 2000 years ago.  He hasn’t slept since.  He doesn’t need to.  And He alone can give you peace.

TODAY’S PRAYER: Heavenly Father, teach us to trust in your unfailing love and in the fact that you constantly keep watch over us.  Lord, I want to sleep in heavenly peace, resting in the comfort that I am yours and you are mine.  May this be a week of peace for all of us wherever we go.  Thank you for giving us a peace that the world can’t begin to understand – and I pray You help us understand it better, too.  Almighty God, I pray that we will truly celebrate Christ this Christmas.  May we remember that he didn’t come here for his own pleasure, but for our salvation, to die and take away our sin.  Help us to remember the cost of Christmas to our Savior.  In His name, Amen.

Copyright 2015 by Galen C. Dalrymple.

Leave a Reply

