DayBreaks for 12/03/15 – Blind Spots

DayBreaks for 12/03/15: Blind Spots

Ps 19:12 (NLT) – How can I know all the sins lurking in my heart?  Cleanse me from these hidden faults.

One of the things that truly amazes me is how often I misplace something and can’t find it.  It happens in my office quite a bit (that probably says a lot about my organizational/messiness!)  Just today, I was looking for my Bible.  I often put it in a box with my papers for the coming Sunday (I use electronic versions of the bible when I’m home working on my computer.)  So, I looked in the box and couldn’t find it.  I looked around the room behind me and on the credenza.  No luck.  Then, I looked at my desk, where I’d just been sitting, and it was no more than 10 inches from my right elbow.  These things I often lose – they are easy to miss, but they’re there nearly all the time if I only knew where to look.

Charles Steinmetz was a genius electrical engineer that retired from General Electric.  After he’d been retired for a while, GE had a breakdown in a complex series of machines and their engineers couldn’t figure out what was wrong.  Steinmetz was asked to consult on the problem.  He arrived, walked around the machines for a few minutes, took a piece of chalk out of his pocket and made a cross mark on one particular piece of one particular machine.  When the engineers took the machine apart, they were amazed to find that where Steinmetz had put the mark was the exact location of the breakdown.  Steinmetz sent a bill for $10,000 to General Electric – an unheard of amount of money in that day and age.  They requested that he itemize the expenses, so he did: $1.00 for making one cross mark, $9999 for knowing where to put it. 

When I come to God in prayer, I often think I know what God will say to me – what things He’ll point out when I ask Him to “search my heart and see if there be any evil way in me”.  But then – surprise! – God points out exactly the place that I’d been blind to.  If we try to figure out our own sins, we will put the mark in the wrong place almost always.  Usually, when I’m confessing my sin to Him, I point out specific acts that were wrong.  But what He shows me is not just the act, but much more than that: my heart attitude or motivation that led to the sin in the first place.  And that, as they say, is priceless. 

David got it right when he said we can’t even detect all the sin in our hearts.  There’s too much of it and we’re too fond of it to be honest about it.  Confession must start with putting ourselves under the protection of God and asking him, through His Spirit, to put the cross mark on the right spot(s) in our lives.  Only He knows the truth.

Copyright 2005 by Galen C. Dalrymple.

TODAY’S PRAYER: Lord, we need your help.  Help us by showing us the truth about our hearts, reveal to us our blindness about our own sin and our motives.  We promise to confess the sin to you and ask forgiveness as You reveal to us our wickedness.  Thank You for Your concern that we should be holy for You.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Copyright 2005 by Galen C. Dalrymple.

Leave a Reply

