DayBreaks for 12/02/15 – Frozen Talons

DayBreaks for 12/02/15: Frozen Talons

One winter day, a carcass was floating down the Niagara River on a cake of ice.  An eagle, soaring above the river, spied it and dropped down upon it.  He sat there leisurely devouring his easy prey. The swift current began bearing him rapidly downward to the falls. But was he not safe? Could he not stretch his great wings and float off into safety at the very brink of the awful cataract?  He’d done it hundreds of times before. So, he floated on.  But by and by came the thundering roar of the falls. The cloud of white mist was towering almost above him. It was time to leave, so he stretched out his magnificent wings for flight. But he could not rise. Unnoticed by the eagle, his talons had sunk into the ice, and the flesh of his prey, frozen hard and fast on the bitter winter day, held him captive in the bitter winter weather. He flapped his wings and struggled with all the power in his muscles and sinews, but it was too late and he soon was swept over the abyss to his death. All because he had waited too long. 

I tend to procrastinate. I know, it’s not a good thing to do. I keep telling myself I’ll stop doing it, but I never seem to get around to doing anything about it! 

Sometimes I procrastinate because I don’t want to do something. For example, we just had to have our water main replaced (it’s about 500 feet from the water meter to our house, so it was a pretty big project.) The work was mostly done about a week ago, but it wasn’t until this morning that I went out and scattered some grass seed on the slope and covered that with some loose straw to help prevent erosion until the grass took root. I hate yard work, so I procrastinated until I couldn’t any longer – it’s supposed to rain tomorrow.

I also procrastinate sometimes because I’m enjoying something else that I’m doing too much to stop and do what I should be doing. In that way, I’m like the eagle in the story above. He was too fond of his dinner and too careless about other things. 

Scripture tells us to not put things off. “Today is the day of salvation.” We are not to continue to feed on our sinful desires until just the last moment and then try to jump into the arms of Jesus. Would Jesus accept us if we had a real, heart-felt conversion at the last moment? Yes, I believe so. He did it with the thief. But is it a heart-felt conversion experience if we purposely try to live the way we want to for our entire lives and then turn to Him when it becomes clear that we’re at death’s door? I think that’s a little too risky for my taste. I’d rather not push God’s mercy that far – goodness knows He must almost be pushed to the limits of His patience with me! 

Hebrews 2:1-4 (KJV) – Therefore we ought to give the more earnest heed to the things which we have heard, lest at any time we should let them slip. For if the word spoken by angels was steadfast, and every transgression and disobedience received a just recompense of reward; How shall we escape, if we neglect so great salvation; which at the first began to be spoken by the Lord, and was confirmed unto us by them that heard him; God also bearing them witness, both with signs and wonders, and with divers miracles, and gifts of the Holy Ghost, according to his own will?

Copyright 2005 by Galen C. Dalrymple.

TODAY’S PRAYER: God, we are so prone to laziness or to becoming captivated by things of this world that cause us to lose sight of the danger of sin and sinful living.  Help us not to be so fascinated by the taste of sin that we put off doing what we know You would have us do.  Awaken us from our slumber and stir us to action for You!  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

