DayBreaks for 11/02/15 – You Cannot Want Wrong Things Any More

DayBreaks for 11/02/15: You Cannot Want Wrong Things Any More

Col. 2:20 (NLT) – You have died with Christ, and he has set you free from the evil powers of this world.

Rom. 6:2-4 (NLT) – Since we have died to sin, how can we continue to live in it? 3 Or have you forgotten that when we became Christians and were baptized to become one with Christ Jesus, we died with him? 4 For we died and were buried with Christ by baptism. And just as Christ was raised from the dead by the glorious power of the Father, now we also may live new lives.

How easy it is to read Romans 6:2-4.  How hard it is to live it. 

The struggle to overcome sin is alive and well in my life, and I’d be willing to bet that it is in your life, too.  Maybe it isn’t – maybe I’m only saying that to make myself feel better – you know, “Misery loves company.”  But, if any of you write to me and tell me that you don’t sin anymore, I’ll be highly suspicious of you from that point onward. 

Entire sermon series could be preached about this passage alone from Romans.  How have we died to sin?  In what way?  What does it mean that we’re dead to it?  If we have died (past tense) to it, why is it still so alive in my heart?  Have I done something wrong?  Has my acceptance of Christ been incomplete in some way that is keeping the old man alive with its sinful nature?  See what I mean…?

There is a scene in C.S. Lewis’ The Silver Chair where Aslan and the children find Caspian lying dead in a stream on the Mountain.  Aslan’s blood (a single drop) is enough to bring Caspian back to life, and when he comes back to life as a young man again, he finds that he has arrived at the place that his heart most longed for when he was alive before.  He asks Aslan a simple, yet honest question: would it be okay for him to have a peek of Jill and Eustice’s world?  Aslan replies, “You cannot want wrong things any more, now that you have died, my son.”

Oh, how I wish that were true of me and my walk with Christ!  I wish that I never wanted wrong things again!  But I do.  And sometimes, I fear that I always will.  But there is where the statement of Aslan (the Christ-figure in Lewis’ books) really comforts me: once I have died (in every way possible) I will someday no longer desire bad and evil things.  I can’t imagine it fully now, but I can say “What a day that’ll be!”

In The Silver Chair, Aslan nonetheless grants Caspian’s wish and gives him the glimpse of the place his heart had longed for.  And He will do the same for me – I will see the streets of gold and the great white throne and even the One who sits upon it.  And I shall then be content, for once we see Him, we’ll finally know how much better He is than anything our sinful hearts ever longed for, and all longing for anything but Him will cease.

TODAY’S PRAYER: Lord, how we long to see You and Your home once we are released from our human flesh!  How we are grieved by our wrong desires for the things of this world.  Help us, Lord, to be more grieved than we are about how our old desires remain strong.  Forgive us for wanting the wrong things.   In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Copyright by 2015 Galen C. Dalrymple.  ><}}}”>

Leave a Reply

