DayBreaks for 10/15/15 – Will I Ever Win the Lottery?

DayBreaks for 10/15/05: Will I Ever Win the Lottery?  

Today after working out in the gym, I stopped in the convenience store to get a couple diet Dr. Pepper’s. As I was entering the store, there was a neon sign that showed the value of the lottery for tonight. I think it was something like $80 million dollars. That’s not chump change!

Well, let me tell you right know that I know I will never win the lottery. They tell me that you have to play in order to win, and I refuse to fork over hard earned money to try to win something when I’ve got a far better chance of being struck by lightning than winning the lottery!

In fact, I’m the kind of person who never wins anything. I’m not lucky that way, I guess. And I’m skeptical of even trying to win because I know the odds are stacked against me.

If you’re like me, you may sometimes feel like you’re not even going to make it to heaven. If I stop and think about it, if I start dwelling on my failures and faults (which are many!), I can start to question whether I’ll get “there.” It is a very uncomfortable feeling, isn’t it?

That’s why I so love and desperately cling to these verses: And this is the will of God, that I should not lose even one of all those he has given me, but that I should raise them up at the last day. For it is my Father’s will that all who see his Son and believe in him should have eternal life. I will raise them up at the last day. – John 6:39-40

I think perhaps Jesus made that statement just for my benefit.

Several things are noteworthy: first, Jesus says that this is God’s will, not just something that God hopes will happen. And God has a way of ultimately getting His will! Second, Jesus says he will “not lose even one”. Have you ever been overlooked? Forgotten? Left out when it came right down to the choosing? My fears of being left out when I stand before the throne of God are pointless, according to Jesus. I will not be forgotten, I will not be left out, I will not be rejected!

Will I win the lottery some day? No. But then I’ve already won something of far greater value!

PRAYER: Jesus, forgive me when I doubt. Forgive me when I think that your blood isn’t sufficient to cover even my sins. Thank you for the incredible comfort that comes from knowing you will forget and lose no one on that day that the Father has put into your hands – including me! In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Copyright by 2015 Galen C. Dalrymple.  ><}}}”>

Leave a Reply

