DayBreaks for 10/13/15 – Taking a Nap With Jesus

DayBreaks for 10/13/05: Taking a Nap With Jesus  

From the DayBreaks archive, October 2005:

Matt. 11:28-30 (NLT) – Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke fits perfectly, and the burden I give you is light.

I look around me and all I see are blurs.  People coming and going at warp speed.  How many people in the course of a week do I talk with who tell me how tired they are, how busy they are – that they don’t have time for one more thing on their plate!  I’m worried for them – and also for myself in the busyness of begin a pastor.  There are many good causes, there are many things to which we can give our time and our effort – and most of us have problems setting boundaries and saying “No.” 

We seem to have forgotten that the greatest Cause of all that to which we can offer our time and energy to is God.  You see, God knows about human limitations – after all, He built them into us.  And unlike us, He’ll readily admit that we have weaknesses and need rest.  We don’t want to admit that we need anything at all – even if it is just rest.  And so we drive ourselves to the point of exhaustion trying to be in twelve different places at once, doing twelve different things simultaneously.

In Messy Spirituality, Mike Yaconelli wrote: “Actually, we do know how to rest; we simply refuse to rest.  Rest is a decision we make.  Rest is choosing to do nothing when we have too much to do, slowing down when we feel pressure to go faster, stopping instead of starting.  Rest is listening to our weariness and responding to our tiredness, not to what is making us tired.  Rest is what happens when we say one simple word: ‘No!’  Rest is the ultimate humiliation because in order to rest, we must admit we are not necessary, that the world can get along without us, that God’s work does not depend on us.  Once we understand how unnecessary we are, only then might we find the right reasons to say ‘Yes!’  Only then might we find the reasons to decide to be with Jesus instead of working for him.  Only then might we have the courage to take a nap with Jesus.”

I’m not by nature a “napper.”  It seem that there’s too much to do.  But I need to learn the lesson that I am unnecessary.  God’s work will go on without me, as will the world itself.  When we’re so busy “doing,” it is hard to be sitting at the feet of Jesus and learning.

PRAYER: God, if we don’t slow ourselves down, I pray you will slow us down until we get our priorities in line with what is truly important! In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Copyright by 2015 Galen C. Dalrymple.  ><}}}”>

2 thoughts on “DayBreaks for 10/13/15 – Taking a Nap With Jesus

  1. Another awesome devotion Galen!!! You have one after another after another!!!

    From: DayBreaks Devotions Sent: Tuesday, October 13, 2015 4:09 AM To: janineb@epix.net Subject: [New post] DayBreaks for 10/13/15 – Taking a Nap With Jesus

    Galen posted: ” DayBreaks for 10/13/05: Taking a Nap With Jesus From the DayBreaks archive, October 2005: Matt. 11:28-30 (NLT) – Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you. L” Respond to this post by replying above this line

    New post on DayBreaks Devotions DayBreaks for 10/13/15 – Taking a Nap With Jesus by Galen

    DayBreaks for 10/13/05: Taking a Nap With Jesus

    From the DayBreaks archive, October 2005:

    Matt. 11:28-30 (NLT) – Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke fits perfectly, and the burden I give you is light.

    I look around me and all I see are blurs. People coming and going at warp speed. How many people in the course of a week do I talk with who tell me how tired they are, how busy they are – that they don’t have time for one more thing on their plate! I’m worried for them – and also for myself in the busyness of begin a pastor. There are many good causes, there are many things to which we can give our time and our effort – and most of us have problems setting boundaries and saying “No.”

    We seem to have forgotten that the greatest Cause of all that to which we can offer our time and energy to is God. You see, God knows about human limitations – after all, He built them into us. And unlike us, He’ll readily admit that we have weaknesses and need rest. We don’t want to admit that we need anything at all – even if it is just rest. And so we drive ourselves to the point of exhaustion trying to be in twelve different places at once, doing twelve different things simultaneously.

Leave a Reply

