DayBreaks for 10/02/15 – Guessing at the Answers

DayBreaks for 10/02/15 – Guessing at the Answers

I LOVE to speculate.  Probably to a fault.  I love to contemplate the mysteries of God, how He works, what He knows and how He thinks.  I want to know the “Why?” behind things.  I know that too much speculation is empty and useless.  I can accept that there are things that God has not told us because He didn’t want us to know, didn’t need us to know, or which, well, we’re just too dumb to be able to understand.  I don’t know if it’ll be that way in heaven, but I feel rather certain that even there we won’t be able to begin to fathom the depth of the Father’s mind.  But that only makes it all the more intriguing for me, because I love to learn, and I’m a slow enough learner that He’ll have to repeat things to me many, many times!

There are many times that people ask me questions about why God does this-or-that, and I’ve got to admit that I often don’t know.  Why did God permit something to happen instead of prevent it?  I can’t answer that question.  Nobody that I know can answer it satisfactorily.  Sometimes I speculate about why, but that’s probably not a good thing to do.  In our desire to help someone find their balance again, we grasp for answers.

Sometimes, we think that as Christians we are expected to have all the answers to anyone’s questions, and that we’re supposed to answer them in a certain way.  Consider this cute story: “A little boy went to Sunday school, where he knew the sort of answers you’re supposed to give to questions.  The teacher asked, ‘What is brown, furry, has a long tail, and stores up nuts for winter?’

“Well,” the boy muttered, “I guess the answer is Jesus, but it sure sounds like a squirrel to me.”

Here’s the bad news: the bad news is that we are often like that kid, knowing the right answer, but not confident enough to say it.  We are suspicious that there’s something we’re overlooking, or something that we’re missing and we’re afraid we’ll look like a fool if we say what we believe.  And so we don’t say anything, letting opportunities pass us by.  And while we may be suspicious of the question – that there’s some ulterior motive for the question or that it’s a trick of some kind, Jesus doesn’t play games with us.  There are not trick questions with God, for far too much is at stake.

Here’s the good news: whenever we are in doubt, the answer IS Jesus!  Whenever someone is in pain, confusion, dealing with an addiction or relationship problem – the answer is Jesus and His Word.  With Jesus, you just can’t go wrong! 

PRAYER: Lord, when we need answers, or even when we merely seek them, forgive our impertinence and help us to know that You are the answer to all of life’s questions, even though we may not understand! In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Copyright by 2015 Galen C. Dalrymple.  ><}}}”>

Leave a Reply

