DayBreaks for 9/25/15 – I Am Who I Am

DayBreaks for 9/25/15: I Am Who I Am

From the DayBreaks archive, 2005:

You know the story: Moses is trying to side-step the calling of God from the burning bush to go to Egypt and speak to Pharaoh.  I can’t blame him.  There may have still been a price on his head for murdering the Egyptian.  At any rate, it’s not likely that Moses would have wanted to take the chance.  I seriously doubt that he’d have returned to Egypt on his own.  After passing human judgment on God’s wisdom in choosing Moses, Moses starts to give his reasons for why God should re-think His plan: “I’m not able.  I am nothing.  I am not able to speak.  I’m not interested in the job.  I’m just a shepherd and that’s all I am and I’m not interested (or able?) to change.  I am what I am and that’s it.  Period.  End of story.” 

God’s response is interesting.  He doesn’t pump Moses up by giving him a pep talk.  He doesn’t say, “Moses, you’re being far too modest.”  Instead, God listens to Moses’ whining, and simply says, “I’ll be with you.”  What God was telling Moses was simply this: all your excuses for why you can’t do it should be answered by the fact that I’ll be with you.  It’ll be My words.  I made your mouth and I can make it speak clearly.  I can protect you, provide for you, and see you through it. 

But for Moses, that’s still not enough.  He wants nothing to do with this venture, and so he tries to worm his way out of it with another lame objection: “I don’t know Your name.” (paraphrased)  Do you think for a moment that God was going to let that stop Him?  No.  God tells Moses, “I am who I am.”  Put the emphasis there on the “I”.  Moses was saying he wasn’t adequate, not a smooth enough of an operator, “I am only a shepherd.  I can’t do it.”  God’s response, in essence, is this: “Moses, don’t tell me who you are or what you are.  I know all that already.  Instead of focusing on what you are or what you aren’t, focus on this: ‘I am who I am.’”  That should settle it! 

We often think about all our limitations, our failures and shortcomings.  Our inabilities.  God doesn’t think about those things at all.  Why?  Because He is who and what He is – He always has been those things, and He always will be Who He Is.  Our inabilities are not limitations in God’s eyes, nor should we let them be excuses for not doing what He asks us to do.  Knowing that the “I AM” is with us should be all we need to know.

Psalm 104:1 Praise the LORD, O my soul. O LORD my God, you are very great; you are clothed with splendor and majesty.

PRAYER: Almighty God, thank you that you never change, that you are still the great I AM and you have our welfare in the center of your heart and thoughts! In Jesus’ name, Amen.

© 2015, Galen C. Dalrymple. To email Galen, click here: E-mail Galen.

Leave a Reply

