DayBreaks for 8/13/15 – Wonder of Wonders

DayBreaks for 8/13/15: Wonder of Wonders 

From the DayBreaks archive, 2005:

Having just returned from vacation this past Sunday evening, I’ve been getting back into the “swing” of things.  One thing that I did while on vacation was to try to make it a point to have an on-going, continual chat with God.  No, I don’t mean praying in the traditional sense or formal sense, I mean just plain old talking to Him inside my head.  I’ve got to tell you, it was great.  (Some of you may be thinking, “Okay…Galen has finally lost it and gone off the deep end.”  Let me assure you that I never felt saner in my entire life!)  It was one of the best ongoing experiences of God’s Presence and Indwelling that I’ve had.  (It almost seems heretical to think about the fact that the Spirit really does indwell someone with all my faults, but it’s biblical!)  The responses that I received back from God through my conversations with Him were stunning.  How do I know it was His voice, and not mine that I was listening to?  Well, for one, the responses I heard (in my head – there was no externally audible voice) were in keeping with God’s character as described in the Bible, in agreement with the teaching of the Word, and many of the “answers” He gave me were not even on my radar screen – I’d not even thought about such things, and they often were things I wouldn’t have made up to tell myself in a million-jillion years.  It was a wonderful few days of encountering Him!

But, now I’m back.  Here’s the disappointing thing: life is once again busy with things to be done, people to talk with, classes and sermons to be prepared – and I find my time with Him getting squeezed.  I’m not surprised by it, I just long to have that kind of intimacy with Him back again.  I know also, that it isn’t His fault, but mine.  The good news is that He’s there all the time, and I don’t have to go sit in a quiet little closet to be able to talk with Him about things.  I just have to do it.

One day while we were on vacation, we planned to drive up to the area of Lake Tahoe that is called Emerald Bay and Inspiration Point.  If you’ve seen it, you know why it’s called Inspiration Point.  God was inspired when He made that place.  I knew when I woke up that I’d seem some beautiful scenery that day, thinking about mountains and the sky and the lake (all pretty big things) and so I asked God what He wanted to show me that day, what it was that He wanted me to see.  I was surprised by the answer: “I want you to see Me today in small things.”  Now that would have never occurred to me, and I was stunned.  So, as my wife and I set out to explore, I looked for signs of God in the small things.  Things like baby pine cones nestled in a protective pocket of pine needles on a branch.  Small flowers.  A single grasshopper that was sitting on the ground but who seemed to have no fear of us at all (I couldn’t help but wonder if God was wanting me to see just that one grasshopper that day so He made it sit still!).  At one point, we stopped by a stream to eat lunch and a wild blue jay joined us.  I started wondering about the odds of that particular blue jay being there at that very moment so that we’d see him, and I thought that it was perhaps the work of God again.  And then, contemplating the odds of that bird being at that exact spot at the exact time we were there, I felt overwhelmed by this chance meeting. 

But soon my mind was led to another thought, even more amazing than being there with that particular bird: in all the universe, God brought me to meet His Son in such a way that I could respond to His love and salvation.  The encounter of the Son of God with a mere human in all the vastness of creation is certainly against the odds, but that’s how God chooses to do His work.  He calls us – we can’t find Him without Him leaving us “bread crumb trails” and an invitation.  Whatever the odds, I’m so very thankful for a God who walked one day through the universe and found me – one of the smallest of all things – and decided to make His home with me.  Blessed be His name!

Ps. 39:5 – You have made my days a mere handbreadth; the span of my years is as nothing before you.  Each man’s life is but a breath.

PRAYER: Thank You for meeting with us in the big and the small, in the ordinary and the extraordinary. Increase our longing for communion with You! In Jesus’ name, Amen.

© 2015, Galen C. Dalrymple.

To email Galen, click here: E-mail Galen.

Leave a Reply

