DayBreaks for 7/24/15 – Where to Start Your Biography

DayBreaks for 7/24/15: Viewing Your Biography

From the DayBreaks archive, July 2005:

Have you ever thought about writing your life story?  Maybe some of you have done it.  I’ve started, but I’ve not written anything on it for years.  (Maybe I keep hoping that something exciting will happen that would seem a bit more interesting than the life story of a country farm-boy from the corn fields of Iowa!)  I think that the real reason that I’ve not made more headway on my life story for my children and grandchildren is that I don’t feel it’s ready to be written yet.  There’s still too much that I think God wants me to do before I get my seat on a non-stop flight of Heavenly Air!  My father wrote his life story – or at least stories about his life and his early years.  I can’t begin to tell you how precious those writings are to me now!  Someday, my kids may get to read my autobiography.

Joseph Wittig said, “A man’s biography ought really to begin not with his birth but with his death; it can only be written from the point of view of its end, because only from there can the whole of his life in its fulfillment be seen.”  Wittig makes a good point.  We’ve got lots of sayings that remind us not to get too far ahead of ourselves: “Don’t count your chickens before they’re hatched,” “the proof of the pudding is in the eating,” “all’s well that end’s well,” etc.  King Solomon started out great in life, but towards the end, he sadly appears to have gone a bit off the deep end, forgetting about the God of his younger years. 

What will my biography look like if written from the perspective of starting with my death?  It would have to cover not just how and where I was born, but how and where I died, how I lived, what mattered to me (not because I said it was important, but because it found expression in my life right up until the very end).  It would cover lots of things that I can’t foresee from this vantage point in time.  It is only when a life can be viewed from the end that we can really appraise it properly. 

It is no different when we come to Jesus.  To tell the story of Jesus, we must begin with his death.  That’s why all the gospel preaching that’s recorded in Scripture focuses on Christ and him crucified.  It is only in his death that his life, and indeed his birth, make sense and find their meaning. 

How’s your biography coming along?

Copyright by 2005 Galen C. Dalrymple.  ><}}}”>

PRAYER: Father, we want to live our lives so that when we die, our story will be one that glorifies you and gives testimony to a life well lived! In Jesus’ name, Amen.

© 2015, Galen C. Dalrymple.

To email Galen, click here: E-mail Galen.

 

Leave a Reply

