DayBreaks for 7/23/15 – One Thing God Never Does

DayBreaks for 7/23/15: One Thing God Never Does

From the DayBreaks archive, July 2005:

I’ll admit it. I worry about some things.  By the grace of God alone, I don’t worry about nearly as much as I used to.  God’s shown me (for the most part) how silly my worrying is.  But I still worry from time to time when the pile of bills seems to keep getting larger while the bank account keeps getting lower, or about a nagging or persistent pain somewhere in my aging body.  If I really want to wrap myself about the axle with worry, I can do it in a heartbeat when I stop to think of all the can go wrong in my kids lives or in the lives of my grandchildren.  Oh, yeah…I can worry just fine, thank you.  About such things I can worry a LOT!

The great apostle Paul urges us in 2 Cor. 10:5-6 with these words: We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.  Now that’s a big challenge, isn’t it?  My guess is that we all sin a lot more in our thought lives than we do in our actual deeds or words.  We know that the things we do and say are visible or audible, so we tend to “behave” ourselves when it comes to the things other can see.  But our thought lives are a whole other matter.  You can be sitting in the middle of a worship service and be sinning your heart out with thoughts of anger, bitterness, lust, hatred, jealousy or any of a dozen other sinful thought and attitude patterns. 

Yet Paul says that we are to take EVERY thought captive for the purpose of making our minds and thoughts obedient to Jesus.  If you haven’t had a challenge in your life for a while, try this one on for size!  While writing in God Is Closer Than You Think, John Ortberg observed: “Every thought is either enabling or strengthening you to be able to cope with reality to live a kingdom kind of life, or robbing you of that life.  Every thought is – at least to a small extent – God-breathed or God-avoidant; leading to death or leading toward life.” 

But, he continues: “…there are other thoughts that are not likely to be God-speaking.  For instance, nowhere in the Bible does it say, ‘And then God worried.’  So I can be quite confident that thoughts that move me toward a paralyzed anxiety are not from God.”

Have you thought about that?  God never worries – NEVER!  He doesn’t have to worry.  He has the power to make everything work out.  He has the ability to see all factors, consider all options, and always knows the right answer and how things will work out.  I don’t, but my God does.  Worry is one kind of thought that we need to take captive in obedience to Christ.  If we worry like non-believers, we don’t have much of a witness – or, at the very least, it would be hard for anyone to distinguish us from an unbeliever.  God isn’t worrying about the future.  Neither should we!

Copyright by 2005 Galen C. Dalrymple.  ><}}}”>

PRAYER: Let us hear Your voice clearly and resolve to only follow You and those who are true to the Word of Life! In Jesus’ name, Amen.

© 2015, Galen C. Dalrymple.

To email Galen, click here: E-mail Galen.

 

Leave a Reply

