DayBreaks for 7/03/15 – Believing the Impossible

DayBreaks for 7/03/15: Believing the Impossible

Today’s DayBreaks is from the 2001 DayBreaks archive:

You can’t go to the grocery store without seeing them.  The National Enquirer, the National Scandal, the Globe…and there are probably at least a few that I don’t even know by name.  There are right there in front of you as you stand at the checkout.  I don’t buy them – let’s be clear about that – but sometimes I can’t help but laugh at some of the headlines.  They boast stories like these: “Monkey-Boy Found in the Amazon”, “Doorway to Hell Found!”, “Titanic Survivor Skeleton Found 75 Years Later” (accompanied by a photo of a skeleton floating in the water inside of a Titanic life ring.  The list of headlines goes on and on and on.  You get the idea.  Rather incredible stuff.  And now it’s confession time: I don’t believe a bit of it! 

I’m a skeptic by nature, I guess.  Call me cautious, call me crazy – just don’t expect me to buy one of these trade rags.  Their claims are so far out that they are hilarious.  But people buy them left and right to read them.  Why?  I’m not sure.  I don’t know if it is because they believe this stuff, or because they want to believe in the incredible, or just because they are looking for a laugh.  (If you buy these magazines, I hope you aren’t offended by my comments – that is not my purpose!)

Perhaps I’m too judgmental.  Maybe I’m too harsh in my opinion about these magazines.  After all, stop and think about some of the things that I believe in: people used to live to be as old as 965 years (Methuselah), a slave boy came to be the vice president of Egypt, a man built a boat of gopher wood and saved humanity from a flood, three Hebrew children walked through a fiery metal furnace and didn’t even come out smelling of smoke, Daniel played fetch with the lions for an entire night and wasn’t on the menu, Jesus was born of a virgin, Jesus walked on water, Jesus raised the dead (including himself), he fed 5000 with the equivalent of a child’s meal from Peter’s Fish and Chips.  Oh, and the list doesn’t stop there: he turned water into wine, he told the wind to go away and it did, he arose bodily into heaven, and he’s coming back again sometime. 

Now let me ask you: which is easier to believe?  That Jesus walked on water or a skeleton was found floating in a Titanic life ring?  Can you more easily believe that a human boy was found in the jungle my monkeys and raised to be one of them, or that the son of God was born via a virgin? 

1 Corinthians 3:18 says “Do not deceive yourselves. If any one of you thinks he is wise by the standards of this age, he should become a “fool” so that he may become wise.”  In one of his songs, titled “God’s Fool”, Michael Card wrote about this concept when he penned these words: “And so we follow God’s own fool, for only the foolish can tell.  Believe the unbelievable, come be a fool as well.

Yes, many thought Jesus was a fool – or at best, a madman.  He didn’t have a home, a place to lay his head, no possessions except his clothing.  He shunned popularity.  He chose ordinary working men and women and challenged them to change the world (and they didn’t even know what the “world” meant). 

I may be foolish.  In fact, I hope I am – if you are talking about being a fool for God.  Christianity is all about faith in God and a Savior we’ve never seen, met or touched.  This is a religion for fools – at least from the world’s point of view we are all fools.  I have never been happier to be a fool.

Copyright by 2005 Galen C. Dalrymple.  ><}}}”>

© 2015, Galen C. Dalrymple.

To email Galen, click here: E-mail Galen.

3 thoughts on “DayBreaks for 7/03/15 – Believing the Impossible

Leave a Reply

