DayBreaks for 6/04/15 – At the End of Time

To access the web page version, click:

DayBreaks for 6/04/15: At the End of Time

From the DayBreaks archive, 6/2/2005:

Among the many things I’ve done in life, some have been good while others have been bad.  There are things I’d like to do again because they brought happiness, joy and meaning.  There are others, however, that I wish I could undo.  I, like you, have some regrets.  Most of them are about pretty minor things.  When I was in my senior year of high school, an old school mate’s dad offered to pay for the gasoline and oil for his son and I to take a summer-long road trip all around the US.  I didn’t do it.  I wish, in retrospect, that I had.  I never learned much about how cars work – my dad was the one who could fix anything.  But now he’s gone, and I’m relatively helpless when it comes to fixing something on a car.  I think back to when my kids were little.  How many times did I tell them that when I got home from work that I’d take them to the park down the street so they could play on the playground equipment – only to fail to do it because I was too tired?  Now that’s a huge regret for me.  I regret the foolish, sinful things I’ve done in my past, too. 

One of the things that I think will be the very best about heaven is that we won’t have any more regrets.  When we get to heaven, sin will have been relegated to, at best, a distant and fading memory-if we remember it at all!  Forgiveness will no longer be necessary, and it, too, will go the way of the carrier pigeon and the dodo bird.  No more regrets.  Never again to do something that I will look back on with fear, shame or anxiety.  Never again will I promise something and fail to deliver on my promise.

While I look forward to many things about heaven, I think it’ll be wonderful to never again have anything to regret.

PRAYER: Thank You, Lord, for all we can look forward to at the end of life, and the end of time!  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

© 2015, Galen C. Dalrymple.

To email Galen, click here: E-mail Galen.

Leave a Reply

