DayBreaks for 4/21/15 – Lessons My Dog Taught Me, #34

Double click for a larger image...

Double click for a larger image…

To access the web page version, click:

DayBreaks for 4/21/15: Lessons My Dog Taught Me, #34

From the DayBreaks archive, April 2005:

If you’ve been around DayBreaks for any length of time, you’ll know about my love affair with dogs.  Mostly, I wrote about our boxer, Ramses, who died on December 30, 2003.  Ramses was what is called “brindle” in coloring.  Some boxers are a light brown with white markings, but others, the brindle ones, are dark brown with what appear to be black stripes and white markings on their underside.  Ramses was very dark colored, and his beautiful coat was shiny and smooth.  I thought he looked great.  Well, that is, unless it was in the middle of the night.  You see, in the middle of the night, because he was so dark in color, I couldn’t see him if he was laying on the floor, and I stepped on him or almost hit the deck after tripping on him more than once.  He was deadly in the dark because he couldn’t be seen!

Our new boxer puppy, Casper, is quite different.  He’s an all white boxer – fairly rare.  I’ve never had a white dog before, and I wasn’t sure how I’d feel about having a white dog.  It was especially hard for me to picture a white boxer.  But he’s really cute.  One of the things that surprised me about him, and I found it a pleasant surprise at that, was that when he gets up in the middle of the night and wants to go out, I can see him!  I don’t usually put my glasses on when I get up to let him out, but because he is white, as he ambles in four-footed puppy way, articulating his way up and down the hallway, I can see him, even in the darkness of a moonless night. 

As I was walking him down the hallway the other night, it struck me how important it is for us to be visible in the darkest of places and at the darkest of times, too.  How does it happen?  It’s important to remember that we don’t have light in ourselves.  Casper doesn’t emit light.  The colors we perceive are only the result of wavelengths of light bouncing off of surfaces.  The varying wavelengths cause the different colors of light we perceive.  So when I see Casper perambulating down the hallway on the floor in front of me, I’m seeing whatever light happens to be bouncing off of his fur.  Let’s be clear: we have no light in and of ourselves, either.  John made it pretty clear when he said: “This is the message he has given us to announce to you: God is light and there is no darkness in him at all.”  (1 John 1:5)  John didn’t say that we are the light, but that God is light.  We must reflect His glory if there is to be light visible from us in the darkness.

Is it important that His children are visible in the darkness?  I go back to my problem with Ramses: because he wasn’t visible, I tripped and stumbled many times.  When God’s children aren’t visible, we cause others to trip and stumble, too. 

I sure doesn’t take much light for Casper to be visible.  Or should I say, the darker it is, the more visible he seems to be.  That’s the way it should be with all who wear the name of Christ.  May His light shine through and because of us, so that others can see the pathway to the One who is the Light!

PRAYER: Let us shine for You, Lord! In Jesus’ name, Amen.

© 2015, Galen C. Dalrymple.

To subscribe to DayBreaks, click here: DayBreaks-subscribe@vineyardhills.org

To unsubscribe to DayBreaks, click here: DayBreaks-unsubscribe@vineyardhills.org  NOTE: Please make sure you send the email from the email address which is subscribed to DayBreaks, or the list server will not be able to locate your email to delete you as you request.  Or, if you no longer have that email address, email Galen (click below) and tell him your old email address and ask to be unsubscribed. 

To email Galen, click here: E-mail Galen

For an archive of the past 4 months of DayBreaks, click here:  DayBreaks Archive

2 thoughts on “DayBreaks for 4/21/15 – Lessons My Dog Taught Me, #34

  1. Sweet message, Galen. I have a small plaque on my desk that says: “Be the kind of person your dog thinks you are”.

    We love our doggies!

    Best to you and your family –

    Nancy L.

    >

    • Ah, yes! I only I could live up to what our dogs think of me! I don’t know, but one of the things I think they think is that we humans must be the greatest hunters in the world because we always have food for them!

      Hope you are doing well! Take care and thanks for reading! Say “Hi” to your hubby for me!

Leave a Reply

