DayBreaks for 2/04/15 – Know Me, Know Him

DayBreaks for 02/04/15 – Know Me, Know Him

John 8:19 (NIV) – Then they asked him, “Where is your father?” “You do not know me or my Father,” Jesus replied. “If you knew me, you would know my Father also.” He spoke these words while teaching in the temple area near the place where the offerings were put. Yet no one seized him, because his time had not yet come.

The people were curious about Jesus.  We know that he spoke and taught as no one else – he did those things with authority.  And while the people knew his mother, they were less certain about his father, though most probably assumed that his father was Joseph.  This was probably a “dig” at his background, hinting that he may have been an illegitimate child.  Jesus doesn’t rise to that bait.  He has something far more important to say.

“If you knew me, you would know my Father also.”  There is typically some resemblance between a father and son in a physical sense.  While that is not always the case, there are other resemblances: the son tends to treat his wife the way he saw his father treat his mother.  It is well documented that sons of alcoholics tend to become alcoholics.  If the father was abusive, it is a good bet that the son will be abusive.  If the father was kind and loving and generous, the son will often imitate the father in that sense. So, Jesus claims that if they knew him, they would know what the father sounded like, what he thought, how he acted and treated people.

But here’s what troubles me: could I say the words that Jesus said?  Shouldn’t we be able to say that if we are His son or daughter?  If people knew me, would they know the Father, too?  Or is my life so out of synch with the character of the Father that no one would be able to see Him in me at all?  If He is my Father, I would act and think more like Him.  I know I am not generous as the Father. I know I am not as compassionate and filled with love as He is.  I know my thoughts aren’t like His.  Perhaps the question is: am I becoming more like Him as time passes, or less?  If people know me, am I revealing the Father through my words?  Would they ever come to know the Father if all they ever knew of me were the words I speak?  Do I tell anyone about Him?

As time passes we grow weary and tired and perhaps we don’t fight as hard to keep growing and changing in good ways.  We can’t afford to do that.  If anything, as we get older and have been on the journey longer, we should be getting closer and closer to being recognizable as His child.  We won’t ever become the Father, but we can become more like Him!

PRAYER: Lord, I’m afraid I’m not nearly as much like You as I should be.  I’m grateful for Your grace and mercy and patience with me!  Help me look more like You so that others may know You by knowing me.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

NOTE: Galen is a missionary with Medical Ambassadors International (MAI) and must raise his own support.  DayBreaks is free – but if you wish to help support his mission work, you may donate (one-time or recurring) by going to this link, then scroll down until you see SUPPORT MISSIONARIES section.  Below that header, on the left, scroll and then find and click on “Galen Dalrymple” and you’ll be taken to where you can make your donation.  If you prefer to donate via check, you may do so by writing your check payable to Medical Ambassadors International and put S090 in the “memo” field. Mail the check to Medical Ambassadors International, P.O. Box 1302, Salida, CA 95368.  MAI is a 501.c.3 organizations so all donations are tax deductible and Medical Ambassadors takes NO administrative fees of any kind out of your donations! Your support would be deeply appreciated!

Leave a Reply

