DayBreaks for 10/27/14 – God and Lemonade Stands

DayBreaks for 10/27/14 – God and Lemonade Stands

 

2 Timothy 2:21 (NLT) –  If you keep yourself pure, you will be a special utensil for honorable use. Your life will be clean, and you will be ready for the Master to use you for every good work.

This was part of our Sunday worship bulletin yesterday and I thought it worth a share.  Sorry, I don’t know the author.

“On Sunday, a month or so ago, we showed a wonderful video about two little girls setting up a lemonade stand and cookie stand to raise money for charity.  What a sweet word picture ad call to be active in ministry it is!

“As I watched it, I reflected on my experiences with lemonade stands. Of course, as a kid I had one.  I assume most kids do, so you may be able to relate to preparing the lemonade, finding cups, making a sign, getting a “table” and figuring out how to make change for a dollar.  Therein lies the issue – money, dollars and bills.  You see, as I watched the video, I recalled the many times in recent years that I have driven past lemonade stands, not because I did not want to support kids making money for themselves or charity.  I drove past simply because I did not have any money with me.  Rarely do I carry cash.  I am like many people, using my debit card or credit card (paying it off at the end of the month), with no cash.

“I figured it out.  Those young entrepreneurs need to get with the times and put up a sign that says, ‘Credit and debit cards are accepted!’  They need one of those portable credit/debit card readers. If they did that, I would stop, and I might even top it up to $5 as the minimum.  Capitalism would be at work again.

“Do you know what the problem with that is?  Capitalism may be at work, but the gospel is not.  I can say all I want, ‘If they would just do x and y and z, then I would do b and d and q!’  The gospel does not work that way.  I need to be prepared when I leave home to bless those I come in contact with.  It is not their fault.  It is my lack of preparedness.  As opposed to driving by every lemonade stand for the next ten years, I can go to the bank get 20 one dollar bills out and keep them in my car.  When I see a lemonade stand, I can stop and bless those who are trying to make a difference, even if they don’t have a card reader.  It’s simple.

God has more for me, more for us here than lemonade.  There are other times in the day I say to myself, ‘If they would just do z, then I would…’  There is no need for that kind of self-talk.  I need to say, ‘How can I be prepared to bless them where they are with what they have?’  That is the language of the gospel.  The gospel is the work of Jesus Christ incarnate, blessing us where we are.  He came to earth, when we did not have a card reader. He came, and He lives a perfect life, died a brutal death and was resurrected from the dead.  This was all at no cost to us and we are called to live as His ambassadors.

“Can we ask you to recall the stand today and think about how the Lord might be asking you to give freely to those around in word, deed, service speech and even money?  Along the way, you’ll enjoy the lemonade!”

PRAYER: Lord, I am quick at times to make excuses for why I cannot help or give.  Help prepare not just my heart, but my hands to be quick to recognize and respond to opportunities to bless generously in whatever way I can.  Jesus, help us live life abundantly in You!  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

NOTE: Galen is a missionary with Medical Ambassadors International (MAI) and must raise his own support.  DayBreaks is free – but if you wish to help support his mission work, you may donate (one-time or recurring) by going to this link, then scroll down until you see SUPPORT MISSIONARIES section.  Below that header, on the left, scroll and then find and click on “Galen Dalrymple” and you’ll be taken to where you can make your donation.  If you prefer to donate via check, you may do so by writing your check payable to Medical Ambassadors International and put S090 in the “memo” field. Mail the check to Medical Ambassadors International, P.O. Box 1302, Salida, CA 95368.  MAI is a 501.c.3 organizations so all donations are tax deductible and Medical Ambassadors takes NO administrative fees of any kind out of your donations!

Your support would be deeply appreciated!

Leave a Reply

