DayBreaks for 10/24/14 – To Discover I Had Not Lived

DayBreaks for 10/24/14 – To Discover I Had Not Lived

From the DayBreaks Archive, 10/28/2004:

There are days when my wife asks me a simple question to which the answer often is difficult and troubling.  That question is an innocent one, and it’s simply this: What did you do today?  When she asks me that, I face a moment of panic when I have to evaluate and admit one of two things: 1) that I had a very exciting, filled day that was challenging and thrilling, or; 2) that I can hardly remember what I did all day long.  It’s easy to answer her question in the first situation, but much more difficult to talk about the day when I realize that I’ve been on autopilot all day and have to really think about what it was that I accomplished.  I don’t like that feeling.

The same thing happens sometimes when we drive.  I’ve driven for hours sometimes and when I stop, I realize that I’ve pretty much been oblivious to what I’ve been doing, where I’ve been and what I’ve seen.  Can you identify with me?  It’s scary.

Henry David Thoreau (who is not especially someone to look up to and admire for a variety of reasons), was explaining why he lived the way he did and he said something worth thinking about: I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately…and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived.

I think that God would applaud that sentiment.  I believe that God wants us to live deliberately – and by that I mean consciously, aware of God, the world around us, the Spirit within us.  And I do believe with all my heart that He does want us to really live!  How sad it would be for a Christian to lie on their deathbed and be overwhelmed with a sense that they’d not lived life the way God wanted them to – to embrace life fully, the victories and failures, the good and bad, the joy and the pain – and to have digested those things and savored each one for the blessing that they are.

I believe that this is nothing more or less than the abundant life that Christ came to give us.  Are you living it?  Go out – and live!

PRAYER: Jesus, help us live life abundantly in You!  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

NOTE: Galen is a missionary with Medical Ambassadors International (MAI) and must raise his own support.  DayBreaks is free – but if you wish to help support his mission work, you may donate (one-time or recurring) by going to this link, then scroll down until you see SUPPORT MISSIONARIES section.  Below that header, on the left, scroll and then find and click on “Galen Dalrymple” and you’ll be taken to where you can make your donation.  If you prefer to donate via check, you may do so by writing your check payable to Medical Ambassadors International and put S090 in the “memo” field. Mail the check to Medical Ambassadors International, P.O. Box 1302, Salida, CA 95368.  MAI is a 501.c.3 organizations so all donations are tax deductible and Medical Ambassadors takes NO administrative fees of any kind out of your donations!

Your support would be deeply appreciated!

2 thoughts on “DayBreaks for 10/24/14 – To Discover I Had Not Lived

Leave a Reply

