DayBreaks for 9/01/14 – A Most Troubling Question

DayBreaks for 9/01/14 – A Most Troubling Question

There are questions in life that are truly vexing.  Today I just want to pose one question for you.  As a Christian, you may feel it is a very easy question to answer.  But, after I ask the first one, I’m going to ask a few follow-up questions designed to provoke you to deeper reflection that may cause you to reconsider your first response.  One more thing before you go any further: STOP RIGHT NOW in your reading and pray that the Spirit will reveal to you the truth about your answer to the question I’m about to pose to you.

Are you ready?

Are you sure?  Did you pray about it?

OK, here goes:

Here’s the first question: Am I willing to obey God’s will were it to be perfectly clear to me?

Follow up questions:

  1. Am I willing to take my entire family and move to a radical Muslim country to serve God as a missionary?
  2. Am I willing to stay in a marriage that is miserable just because God says He hates divorce?
  3. Am I willing to give my retirement fund in order to feed the hungry?
  4. Am I willing to work at a job I hate for the rest of my life if it means I can best serve God in that role?
  5. Am I willing to remain single the rest of my life if that is God’s plan for me?
  6. Am I willing to stop having an immoral relationship with the person I’m sleeping with because God says it is wrong?
  7. Am I willing to be arrested and put into jail for the rest of my life for sharing the gospel?
  8. Am I willing to be mocked, reviled and ridiculed for the sake of the gospel?
  9. Am I willing to be poor and homeless in order to better identify with such people?
  10. Am I willing to give up a career I deeply love to do something I hate if God were to ask me to do so?

I can hear you thinking, “God has never asked those things of me.”  Fair enough.  But that’s not the point.  The point, going back to the first question, is this: IF GOD WERE TO ASK YOU IN A PERFECTLY CLEAR WAY LEAVING NO DOUBT IN YOUR MIND to do any or all the above, would you do it?  This is a matter of the heart, so don’t let the thought of “God hasn’t, and won’t, ever ask me to do those things!” get in the way of some diligent soul-searching.  It’s not about what God may or may not do, what He will or will not do, it is a question about what would I do if I know without a shadow of a doubt that God asks me to do any of the above.  

Perhaps we’ll bump into one another as we wrestle with what the Spirit reveals to us about the condition of our hearts and our obedience.

PRAYER: Your Spirit, Lord, has shown me the condition of my own heart, and I am ashamed. Give me more love for You and a desire to obey in anything You may ask of me! In Jesus’ name, Amen.

NOTE: Galen is a missionary with Medical Ambassadors International (MAI) and must raise his own support.  DayBreaks is free – but if you wish to help support his mission work, you may donate (one-time or recurring) by going to this link, then scroll down until you see SUPPORT MISSIONARIES section.  Below that header, on the left, scroll and then find and click on “Galen Dalrymple” and you’ll be taken to where you can make your donation.  If you prefer to donate via check, you may do so by writing your check payable to Medical Ambassadors International and put S090 in the “memo” field. Mail the check to Medical Ambassadors International, P.O. Box 1302, Salida, CA 95368.  MAI is a 501.c.3 organizations so all donations are tax deductible and Medical Ambassadors takes NO administrative fees of any kind out of your donations!

Your support would be deeply appreciated!

 

Leave a Reply

