DayBreaks for 8/22/14 – What Is Given Up

DayBreaks for 8/22/14 – What Is Given Up

NOTE: Galen and Laurel are relocating to Georgia this week, so warmed-over DayBreaks are on the menu.  New DayBreaks will resume again sometime next week!  From 2004: 

“Lord, it’s good to talk with you again.  Have you missed me?  I’ve missed You.  I love you, God.  I love You so much!  I’m sorry I’ve not spoken to you more regularly lately.  Let’s see, how long has it been?  Two weeks?  Really?  Well, I’ve been awfully busy, You know.  But, here I am now!  I know, God, that all that I have has come from You.  Thank you for this beautiful home You’ve given me, Lord.  And that You for the second job that You gave me so that I could make my house payments.  Oh, and did I ever thank you for the sports car in the driveway?  And God, I’m sure enjoying the swimming pool in the back yard when it is this hot.  Thank you!  Thank you that my prescription for Prozac is working and I’m finally being able to calm down and not feel so depressed and freaked out.  God, I’d like to have a new computer?  Can you also give me a raise so we can buy that bigger house with the in-ground pool?  And Lord, I don’t want to sound greedy, but my wife’s car is starting to make strange noises and it has 185,000 miles on it and we could sure use a new car.  Thanks, Lord.  

“Lord!  Did I just hear you right?  You want me to give up my beer and pizza night out with the guys?  How dare You ask such a thing!  That’s the problem with You, God, You always want me to give up something, and quite frankly, Lord, I’m getting sick and tired of it!  I’ll think about it, God, but please don’t ask me to give up any more of MY things. 

“Thanks, God, for listening.  I love You!” 

Does that sound like one of your prayers?  We sure ask God for a lot, but when He asks us for something – whether it is 10% of our income, our time, our talent, our energy, our intellect – we start to get defensive right away and we resent that He should have the nerve to ask us to give up anything. 

I like what Calvin Miller had to say in Once Upon a Tree:What is given up is never seen as a real sacrifice between lovers.”  If we truly love God as we profess to do, whatever He would ask us to give up would not really be seen as a sacrifice – it would be more of a gift that one gives to a lover.  Kinda makes me wonder how much we really love God… 

John 14:15 (NIV)  –  “If you love me, you will obey what I command.” 

PRAYER: Give us hearts that are ready and willing to surrender anything You ask of us, Lord!  In Jesus’ name, Amen. 

NOTE: Galen is a missionary with Medical Ambassadors International (MAI) and must raise his own support.  DayBreaks is free – but if you wish to help support his mission work, you may donate (one-time or recurring) by going to this link, then scroll down until you see SUPPORT MISSIONARIES section.  Below that header, on the left, scroll and then find and click on “Galen Dalrymple” and you’ll be taken to where you can make your donation.  If you prefer to donate via check, you may do so by writing your check payable to Medical Ambassadors International and put S090 in the “memo” field. Mail the check to Medical Ambassadors International, P.O. Box 1302, Salida, CA 95368.  MAI is a 501.c.3 organizations so all donations are tax deductible and Medical Ambassadors takes NO administrative fees of any kind out of your donations!

Your support would be deeply appreciated!

 

One thought on “DayBreaks for 8/22/14 – What Is Given Up

  1. Off again huh? Have a safe trip and I look forward to your post when the dust settles. Prayers are always sent for your ministry.

Leave a Reply

