DayBreaks for 8/19/14 – The Runaway Bunny and Which Way to Run

DayBreaks for 8/19/14 – The Runaway Bunny and Which Way to Run

NOTE: Galen and Laurel are relocating to Georgia this week, so warmed-over DayBreaks are on the menu.  New DayBreaks will resume again sometime next week!  From 2004: 

Have you ever thought about what the encounters were like in Eden before Adam and Eve sinned?  It is interesting that they ran from God afterwards, but there’s no indication that they were ever afraid or even intimidated by Him before that.  I have the impression that prior to the fall, when they heard God walking in the garden that they probably ran to greet Him!  I try to put myself in their position.  What would my reaction be if I heard God walking on the deck outside right now?  If I am to be honest, right now I’d probably say that I’d try to find a place to hide, too.  That’s probably more a reflection of the ups and downs in my life and my ongoing struggles with obedience, but I know that the reason I’d try to hide is because of sin. 

In Dangerous Wonder, Mike Yaconelli made an astute observation: “Running away from God is a learned behavior.”  I think He’s right.  It’s what Adam and Eve did.  We run because of our sin.  And once we feel the guilt of the sin, we keep on running – trying as hard as we can to hide from Him in our shame.  But He runs after us.  He came to the garden looking for Adam and Eve, and Jesus came to earth to seek and save those who were running from Him.  But at some point in our life, we have to decide which way to run.  

Margaret Wise Brown wrote a story for children called The Runaway Bunny.  In this story, the little bunny announces to momma bunny that he is running away, and the mother responds, “If you run away, then I will run after you.  For you are my little bunny.”  The little bunny does run away, running everywhere, but the mother keeps running after him until finally, at the end of the book, the little bunny wises up to his predicament.  “Shucks,” he says, “I might just as well stay where I am and be your little bunny.”  The little bunny sure wasted a lot of time and energy trying to run away from the pursing love of the mother.

We can waste our life running from God, or we can come to the conclusion the little bunny did: “I might just as well stay where I am and be Yours…”.  Psalm 139 verse 7 is pretty clear: “Where can I go from your Spirit?  Where can I flee from your Presence?”  No where.  The Father relentlessly pursues us, His heart of love beating furiously in the pursuit, hoping that at some point we’ll stop running from Him and turn to run to Him and be embraced.

PRAYER: Oh, God of the open arms, may we learn to run to you and not from you!  In Jesus’ name, Amen. 

NOTE: Galen is a missionary with Medical Ambassadors International (MAI) and must raise his own support.  DayBreaks is free – but if you wish to help support his mission work, you may donate (one-time or recurring) by going to this link, then scroll down until you see SUPPORT MISSIONARIES section.  Below that header, on the left, scroll and then find and click on “Galen Dalrymple” and you’ll be taken to where you can make your donation.  If you prefer to donate via check, you may do so by writing your check payable to Medical Ambassadors International and put S090 in the “memo” field. Mail the check to Medical Ambassadors International, P.O. Box 1302, Salida, CA 95368.  MAI is a 501.c.3 organizations so all donations are tax deductible and Medical Ambassadors takes NO administrative fees of any kind out of your donations!

Your support would be deeply appreciated!

 

Leave a Reply

