DayBreaks for 8/18/14 – A Delightful Concert

DayBreaks for 8/18/14 – A Delightful Concert

NOTE: Galen and Laurel are relocating to Georgia this week, so warmed-over DayBreaks are on the menu.  New DayBreaks will resume again sometime next week!  From 2004: 

The other day I was treated to a delightful concert – perhaps the best I’ve heard in a long, long time.  No, it wasn’t Simon and Garfunkle, nor Michael W. Smith, nor the San Francisco orchestra.  This concert was put on by a friend of mine, and it was, for the most part, a solo performance.  No, it wasn’t on the piano, violin, viola or flute.  This concert was played on a harmonica.  I don’t remember too many of the songs that were played.  It wasn’t the music that you could hear that made the concert special.  It was the music that played inside my friend.  You see, my friend is a student at the senior’s bible study that I lead each week.  Her name is Glenna, and she’s soon to celebrate her 89th birthday.  (Note from 8/14/14: I would imagine that by now Glenna is playing her harmonica along with the heavenly choir.  We lost touch after she moved from the town where we both lived.) 

You’d have to know Glenna to appreciate her.  She can hardly walk (she can’t walk at all without a walker, and even then she walks just far enough to get to her wheelchair.)  She can’t go anywhere without help, but she never misses our Bible study in the senior’s center.  Rain or shine – Glenna will be there.  Her eyes have a hint of sly mischief about them, and that impression is only re-inforced by the smile that seldom, if ever, leaves her face.  

The other morning I got to the seniors center a bit early and I was sitting in the library (where we have our study).  Glenna was in the cafeteria, sitting with her back towards the entrance, so when I heard the harmonica, my first impression was that it was recorded music.  Then someone told me that Glenna was playing.  She was alone in the cafeteria (at least to human eyes), and she played and played and played after I came in – but she never knew I was there.  I didn’t want to disturb her and risk her stopping the music. 

I was awestruck at the joy that fills this child of God.  She is in difficult circumstances, no family to care for her, nearly destitute, possessed of very limited physical capability, but her heart still flies like the eagle and her feet skip like those of a deer on the high places because she loves Jesus.  

In our Bible study that day, we discussed how Jesus touched the lepers.  Someone in the study made the comment that no one touches old people.  That about broke my heart, especially after hearing the music pour out of this elderly lady.  So, after the study was over, I made it a point to go to Glenna, put my hand on her shoulder (as I think Jesus would have), and told her what a precious treasure she is. 

I walked away wondering what kind of concert flows out of my soul.  Is it one that brings delight to those around me – like the music that plays in her heart?  

Psalm 18:33 (NIV)  –  “He makes my feet like the feet of a deer; he enables me to stand on the heights.” 

Isaiah 35:6 (NLT)  –  “The lame will leap like a deer, and those who cannot speak will shout and sing! Springs will gush forth in the wilderness, and streams will water the desert.” 

Job 35:10 (NLT)  –  “Yet they don’t ask, ‘Where is God my Creator, the one who gives songs in the night?” 

PRAYER: Thank You for the simple delight of the child and the elderly, and for the music that filled Glenna’s heart and taught me so much!  In Jesus’ name, Amen. 

NOTE: Galen is a missionary with Medical Ambassadors International (MAI) and must raise his own support.  DayBreaks is free – but if you wish to help support his mission work, you may donate (one-time or recurring) by going to this link, then scroll down until you see SUPPORT MISSIONARIES section.  Below that header, on the left, scroll and then find and click on “Galen Dalrymple” and you’ll be taken to where you can make your donation.  If you prefer to donate via check, you may do so by writing your check payable to Medical Ambassadors International and put S090 in the “memo” field. Mail the check to Medical Ambassadors International, P.O. Box 1302, Salida, CA 95368.  MAI is a 501.c.3 organizations so all donations are tax deductible and Medical Ambassadors takes NO administrative fees of any kind out of your donations!

Your support would be deeply appreciated!

 

Leave a Reply

