DayBreaks for 6/19/14 – Your Mission, Should You Decide to Accept It

DayBreaks for 6/19/14 – Your Mission, Should You Decide to Accept It

Matthew 4:19 (NIV)  “Come, follow me,” Jesus said, “and I will make you fishers of men.”

Matthew 28:19-20 (NIV) Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, 20  and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”

One year during high school (when I wasn’t involved with the football team) I played in the high school marching band.  There was no flag corps, rifle drill team or dance routines.  There was “just” the band for half-time entertainment (pretty dull, eh? – but remember, Moses was just a kid when I was in high school!) Everything depended on the band and its abilities and talents in playing and marching. Every week we had to learn a new set of songs, to go with new marching formations to be performed at half time of the football games. We received our instructions early in the week and then practiced them until we got them right. They were not always easy: count time, play the music, step out on the appropriate measure and move exactly eight steps every five yards. As long as everyone followed their set of instructions, the maneuvers on the field were correct and the trombones did not spear into the clarinets and the trumpet players didn’t wind up with their heads embedded in the drums! Of course, if you missed a beat, or turned the wrong way, you could end up at one end of the field (all alone!) while the rest of the band was at the other. It’s not easy trying to convince everyone that you were right and the other 64 were wrong!

As disciples of Christ, we are all called to march, to move out with a special mission in the world. Matthew heard those moving words as addressed not only to him but to all who would join the movement in the years to come. There is about them an echo of the old television program “Mission: Impossible!” I can hear the words coming through: “Your mission, Matthew, should you decide to accept it….”

Here’s the scoop: if you are a Christian, you don’t have a choice on whether or not to accept this mission.  It is the same mission that Jesus gave to every disciple: to go and make more disciples. The Great Commission wasn’t given to just pastors, seminary professors or writers of religious works. It’s for all of us! If you’re a Christian – it is already your mission.

And there’s an extra bonus that Jesus throws in: when we do, we won’t ever wind up marching alone.  He’ll be with us!  Is that great, or what?!?!?!

Will we march with Him, or will we go our own way?

PRAYER: Lord, for those of us who don’t have the gift of evangelism, this is one tough command!  We are afraid we’ll “blow” it and say the wrong things and wind up embarrassing ourselves.  Remind us that your Spirit lives and speaks through us and that our job is to “go” and make disciples…and leave the rest to You.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

NOTE: Galen, a missionary with Medical Ambassadors International (MAI), raises his own support.  DayBreaks is free – but if you wish to help support his mission work, you may donate (one-time or recurring) by going to this link: http://www.medicalambassadors.org/donate.html. 

Look down the left side of the page, locate the SUPPORT MISSIONARIES section, click on “Galen Dalrymple” and you’ll be taken to where you can make your donation.  If you prefer to donate via check, you may do so by writing your check payable to Medical Ambassadors International and putS090 in the “memo” field. Mail the check to Medical Ambassadors International, P.O. Box 1302, Salida, CA 95368.  MAI is a 501.c.3 organizations so all donations are tax deductible.

Your support would be greatly appreciatd!

2 thoughts on “DayBreaks for 6/19/14 – Your Mission, Should You Decide to Accept It

  1. Dear Galen,

    Reading your post hit a discordant chord within me. The exact same thing happened to me. In fact, a couple of weeks ago I was considering using a similar example in a post that I had written on my Inspiration and Hope blog site, although it was about my personal experience in the marching band. But instead, I chose to use a different story and called it “The Fumble”.

    I played piccolo in the band. When we reached the 50 yard line, we were supposed to reverse direction. Problem is, I kept going. It was my “uh oh” moment. A sinking feeling hit me. I was all alone on the 45 yard line. What was I thinking? Could I not follow instructions? I was just so over confident that I was right. I was like a deer in head-lights.

    I could hear the loud laughs from everyone in their seats (or at least I imagined so). I abruptly spun around and literally ran 10-yards back to catch up with my formation (the difference between where I was on the field now and where my formation was marching in the opposite direction from me). Only, this wasn’t a half time show. It was the Clifton Band Festival at night in front of a sold out stadium. There were probably 20 or more bands at the competition. Needless to say, we did not win the competition and I could not live that moment down for the life of me.

    That was probably 45 years ago. It is a moment that I have never forgotten (and have never spoken of since because it was so embarrassing). Of course, I think I made up some excuse that my shako (military style hat and plume) fell over my eyes and I could not see momentarily. After reading your post, I can laugh about it, and say, well, I wasn’t the only one.

    You asked, “Will we march with Him, or will we go our own way?” The truth be told, on that night 45 years ago, I was marching to my own drum beat. Ouch! That hurts to admit. Similarly, as Christians we also sometimes take wrong turns in life. Sometimes, our stubbornness, our self-sufficiency and self-reliance get in the way and cause us to listen to a contrarian voice. It’s ‘my way or the highway’. How many times have I made things worse because I did it my way or because I did not heed the promptings of the Holy Spirit or my heart? To some, those would be recoverable fumbles, but to others, it can be “The Fumble”. Read post http://inspirationandhope.wordpress.com/2014/05/28/the-fumble/.

    God continually speaks to us. Do we listen? For me, it’s not only regarding the Great Commission, it concerns everything in my life. All of us at one time or another have marched to our own drum beat. For me: All I needed to do was apologize, but instead, I had to argue and defend myself. All I needed to do was listen, but instead, I had to open my big fat mouth. All I needed to do was be patient, but instead I rushed into a situation before planning and as a result, the outcome was less than desirable or even disastrous; all because I had to do it myself without listening to or obeying God.

    But there is HOPE! In Psalm 30:6, David also had a propensity for going his own way for David said “when all was going well, I said, I will never be moved.” But when God hid His face from David because of perhaps his self-confidence, his self-reliance and pride, David was troubled. It says that David then cried unto the Lord. He begged the Lord for loving-kindness, and the Lord was compassionate upon him. God heard David, for in 30:11, it says that David reversed his ways and caught up with God’s formation again. In other words, David was again on the same yard line with God and marching to God’s drum beat. There are no out of steps or discord when we are marching with God. It says that David again praised God – “I will give thanks to You forever”.

    When I go my own ways, I too like David am shaken when God turns His face from me. Like David, God picks me up and turns me around. He turns my crying into dancing, He dresses me with joy, and He establishes my feet on His firm foundation again. Check out my song and video “Pick Me Up” at http://inspirationandhope.wordpress.com/2014/06/18/pick-me-up/. It reminds me of Psalm 30.

    Bill Hutzel, Inspiration and Hope

    • Bill:
      Thanks so much for sharing your story! I couldn’t agree with all that you wrote if I’d written it myself. I sure wish that I heard Him better in my own life. I love the story of Elijah when he was hiding in the cave after the contest on Mt. Carmel with the prophets of Baal. There was MAJOR activity going on: great wind that shattered rocks (but God was not in the wind), all sorts of stuff…then a “still, small voice.” I remember reading that the Hebrew word that is used there can mean “the sound of falling snow”. What that tells me is that I need to REALLY be listening sometimes if I want to hear Him! Of course, there were other times that He spoke and the earth shook….but those times are hard to miss! I suspect it is more often than not that He approaches us with the “still, small voice” because we, like Israel of old, would be terrified if we heard Him in all His power!

      Blessings and peace, brother…and thanks again, for sharing!!!!

Leave a Reply

