DayBreaks for 3/04/14 – Struggling to “Get It Right”

DayBreaks for 3/04/14 – Struggling to “Get It Right”   

Today is a follow-up on my post of 3/3/14 where I expressed frustration at having grown content with the present status of my relationship with God. If you haven’t read it, I’d encourage you to read it first, then return to today’s post.

As I was praying this morning and pondering the situation and talking with God about it when a question came into my mind: “OK, so what does it take to experience the fullness of God, or at least, what passes for the fullness of God in this world here and now?” I posed the question to God and a thought came to my mind (was it the Spirit? – I tend to think so because the answer is not one I would have chosen for myself). This is what I “heard”: “It takes being willing to risk it all.”

Ouch. Not what I wanted to hear, but probably what I needed to hear. But it makes sense, doesn’t it? That’s what it took for Noah, Abram, Job, Isaac, Jacob, Joseph, Deborah, Ruth, Daniel, Isaiah, Jeremiah, David, Peter, James, Paul, John, Mary….the list is a long one and extremely distinguished. These are the people who have experienced a close, intimate relationship with God. And they all put it all on the line in order to follow Him closely and know Him deeply.

If we could ask any one of them if it was worth it or not, my very strong suspicion is that every single one would say that it absolutely was worth it…hands down, no question about it.

But, oh, how I had a check in my heart!!!! “To risk it all” is terrifying to me. When I look at what I have risked thus far, it is very little. Yes, we’ve put our finances at risk with my work as a missionary with Medical Ambassadors. How will that all pan out? That remains to be seen…but the very fact that I say it “remains to be seen” just shows how far I have to go in my faith and my walk with Him. And that’s just finances. There are much greater things to be risked.

The thought of throwing it all on the line truly does terrify me. What will it mean? What will God want/demand from me in order to have an increasingly close walk with Him? I honestly don’t know.  It may be all that He wants is the willingness to put anything/everything in His hands and nothing more.

But this I do know: all those who have walked in an intimate relationship with Him have paid a price. They also received the reward that is God Himself and the friendship relationship with Him.

It’s a struggle.  And I’m struggling with it. I am very interested in knowing from you what has really helped you move past a complacent relationship with Him and into the deep end of the relationship pool with the Almighty. Let me hear from you – and let’s learn and grow together.

PRAYER: Jesus, I am frightened. I know You have told us we must lose our life in order to find it in You. I do believe that I want to know You so much better than I do and not to settle for the crumbs that fall from Your table. Be gentle with us, Lord, as we struggle to grow. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Copyright 2014 by Galen C. Dalrymple.

To subscribe to DayBreaks, use this link: https://daybreaksdevotions.wordpress.com and click on the Subscribe button at the right of the page.  If you wish to unsubscribe, at the bottom of each email you receive about DayBreaks, you should find an “Unsubscribe” ink at the bottom of the email.

NOTE: Galen is a missionary with Medical Ambassadors International (MAI) and raises his own support.  DayBreaks is free – and will remain so – but if you wish to help Galen in his ministry work, you can donate on his behalf.  Donations (one-time or recurring) may be made by going to this link: http://www.medicalambassadors.org/donate.html.  Look down the left side of the page until you find the SUPPORT MISSIONARIES section then click on “Galen Dalrymple” and you’ll be taken to PayPal where you can make your donation.  If you prefer to donate via check, you may do so by writing your check payable to Medical Ambassadors International and put S090 in the “memo” field. Mail the check to Medical Ambassadors International, P.O. Box 1302, Salida, CA 95368.  All donations are tax deductible as MAI is a 501.c.3 organization certified with both the Evangelical Council for Financial Accountability and Guidestar.

Thank you!

One thought on “DayBreaks for 3/04/14 – Struggling to “Get It Right”

  1. My friend, I am wondering if it is the attitude we have of wanting to risk it all is what God desires. We cannot do enough or sacrifice enough to be right with God. He just desires our heart, let Him have it, then just be yourself. Thoughts from a dumb jock.

Leave a Reply

