DayBreaks for 2/20/14 – Counting Dead Fish

DayBreaks for 2/20/14 – Counting Dead Fish

From the DayBreaks archive, dated 2/20/2004:

In YOUR GOD IS TOO SAFE, Mark Buchanan wrote: “Why do people get close to God?  Why do you?  When I subject my own motives to the sharpest and toughest scrutiny, I find, very often, that the God I’m looking for is the God who follows me – comes onto my fish boat, fills up my nets.  But I fear the God who becomes concretely personal in Jesus, who confronts me with a stark command, barren of option: Follow me.

“But what about all this stuff, Jesus – these boats and fish?  Why did you give me all these fish at this particular moment?  Why didn’t You ask me to follow You last night, when I hated my job, when I would have given anything for an excuse to walk away from it?  Why do You do that, Jesus?  Why get everything going my way and then ask me to forsake it?

“Follow me.

“Follow You where?

“Where I lead you.

“To do what?

“What I tell you.

“For how long?

“He doesn’t’ say, but we know he means forever.

“There’s only one certainty about this.  We know what we’ll get if we refuse: to sit on wet stones and count dead fish.”

Life is full of chances.  We take chances every time we go out to the store or go to work or school.  We take chances when we aren’t even aware that we’re taking chances.  Buchanan’s point is very well made: we may not know where Jesus is going to lead us specifically, nor for how long.  But what’s the alternative to going on a lifelong walk with him?  Being without him, that’s what.  He’s willing to leave us in our fishing boats, surrounded by wet nets, lives of quiet desperation, sure that there must be more but too paralyzed to take the chance to get out of the security of our little boats and go on an adventure with him.

What would you rather do: count dead fish or live a life filled with the miracle of His presence and power?

Copyright by 2004 Galen C. Dalrymple.  ><}}}”>

PRAYER: Let us not grow content with counting dead fish, Lord, and forever regretting that we didn’t follow you! In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Copyright 2014 by Galen C. Dalrymple.

To subscribe to DayBreaks, use this link: https://daybreaksdevotions.wordpress.com and click on the Subscribe button at the right of the page.  If you wish to unsubscribe, at the bottom of each email you receive about DayBreaks, you should find an “Unsubscribe” ink at the bottom of the email.

NOTE: Galen is a missionary with Medical Ambassadors International (MAI) and raises his own support.  DayBreaks is free – and will remain so – but if you wish to help Galen in his ministry work, you can donate on his behalf.  Donations (one-time or recurring) may be made by going to this link: http://www.medicalambassadors.org/donate.html.  Look down the left side of the page until you find the SUPPORT MISSIONARIES section then click on “Galen Dalrymple” and you’ll be taken to PayPal where you can make your donation.  If you prefer to donate via check, you may do so by writing your check payable to Medical Ambassadors International and put S090 in the “memo” field. Mail the check to Medical Ambassadors International, P.O. Box 1302, Salida, CA 95368.  All donations are tax deductible as MAI is a 501.c.3 organization certified with both the Evangelical Council for Financial Accountability and Guidestar.

Thank you!

Leave a Reply

