DayBreaks for 01/21/14 – What I Want to Leave Behind

DayBreaks for 1/21/14 – What I Want to Leave Behind

Isaiah 54:10 (NLT) – For the mountains may move and the hills disappear, but even then my faithful love for you will remain. My covenant of blessing will never be broken,” says the LORD, who has mercy on you.

If you read DayBreaks or my other blog, you’ll know that I love history and being in historical places. About two years ago, I had the privilege of visiting Ebenezer Baptist Church in Atlanta where Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., preached. I was able, for a brief moment, to stand in the pulpit of that relatively small church where King preached. Two months before his assassination, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., spoke to his congregation in that place and mused about his death in what would oddly enough become his eulogy. This is what he had to say:

“Every now and then I think about my own death, and I think about my own funeral. If any of you are around when I have to meet my day, I don’t want a long funeral. And if you get somebody to deliver the eulogy, tell them not to talk too long. Every now and then I wonder what I want them to say. Tell them not to mention that I have a Nobel Peace Prize, that isn’t important. Tell them not to mention that I have three or four hundred other awards, that’s not important. I’d like someone to mention that day that Martin Luther King, Jr., tried to give his life serving others. I’d like someone to say that day that Martin Luther King, Jr., tried to love somebody. I want you to be able to say that day that I did try to feed the hungry. I want you to be able to say that day that I did try, in my life, to clothe those who were naked. I want you to be able to say that I did try to visit those in prison. I want you to say that I tried to love and serve humanity.”

Dr. King concluded with these words: “I won’t have any money left behind. I won’t have the fine and luxurious things of life to leave behind. But I just want to leave a committed life behind.”

Commitment is a bit of a dirty word anymore, or at least it is something that is not common. We find people lacking commitment to their marriages, to their children, to their work, to integrity, and also to righteousness and God.

Jesus was fully committed to us. Let our lives be fully committed to Him and to serving our fellow beings who are made in His image.

PRAYER: Lord, let us live lives of commitment and service to You and all we meet. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Copyright 2003, 2013 by Galen C. Dalrymple.

To subscribe to DayBreaks, use this link: https://daybreaksdevotions.wordpress.com and click on the Subscribe button at the right of the page.  If you wish to unsubscribe, at the bottom of each email you receive about DayBreaks, you should find an “Unsubscribe” ink at the bottom of the email.

NOTE: Galen is a missionary with Medical Ambassadors International (MAI) and raises his own support.  DayBreaks is free – and will remain so – but if you wish to help Galen in his ministry work, you can donate on his behalf.  Donations (one-time or recurring) may be made by going to this link: http://www.medicalambassadors.org/donate.html.  Look down the left side of the page until you find the SUPPORT MISSIONARIES section then click on “Galen Dalrymple” and you’ll be taken to PayPal where you can make your donation.  If you prefer to donate via check, you may do so by writing your check payable to Medical Ambassadors International and put S090 in the “memo” field. Mail the check to Medical Ambassadors International, P.O. Box 1302, Salida, CA 95368.  All donations are tax deductible as MAI is a 501.c.3 organization certified with both the Evangelical Council for Financial Accountability and Guidestar.

Thank you!

2 thoughts on “DayBreaks for 01/21/14 – What I Want to Leave Behind

  1. Galen …very good…thank you for sharing.

    Greg Smith Tracy High Math Teacher Sophomore Football Head Coach Varsity Softball Head Coach 315 E 11th St Tracy, CA 95376 (209)969-2169 cell (209)830-3360 ext 2496

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

