DayBreaks for 01/17/14 – How Could I Give You Up?

Is this one of those days when you really need to be reminded of how God feels about you?  We all have days like that.  Today may be one of them for you.  If so, I hope you’ll take the time to spend a brief moment in prayer right now, making this selection of passages from the prophet Hosea personal.  How do you do that?  Simple!  Every time you see the word “Israel” in the following passage, simply put your name in its place, and I think you’ll have new appreciation for what God has done and how He feels about you:

“Israel, how could I give you up?

My heart turns against it.

When Israel was a child, I loved him,

I myself taught him to walk,

I took him in my arms;

Yet he has not understood that I was the one looking after him.

I led him with reins of kindness,

With leading-strings of love.

I was like someone who lifts and infant close against his cheek;

Stooping down to him I gave him his food.

How could I treat you like Admah,

Or deal with you like Zeboiim?

My heart recoils from it,

My whole being trembles at the thought.

I will not give reign to my fierce anger,

I will not destroy Ephraim again,

For I am God, not man:

I am the Holy One in your midst

And have no wish to destroy.” – Hos. 11:1a, 3-4, 8c-9 (NAB)

Spend the rest of this day knowing that you are loved by the Almighty God of heaven.

PRAYER: Thank You for these words of consolation and peace! For all today who are struggling to believe in Your love, let the Spirit whisper these words deep into the heart! In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Copyright 2014 by Galen C. Dalrymple.

To subscribe to DayBreaks, use this link: https://daybreaksdevotions.wordpress.com and click on the Subscribe button at the right of the page.  If you wish to unsubscribe, at the bottom of each email you receive about DayBreaks, you should find an “Unsubscribe” ink at the bottom of the email.

NOTE: Galen serves as a missionary with Medical Ambassadors International (MAI) and must raise his own support.  DayBreaks is free – and will remain so – but if you wish to support Galen in his ministry, you can donate (one-time or recurring) by going to this link: http://www.medicalambassadors.org/donate.html.  

Look down the left side of the page until you find the SUPPORT MISSIONARIES section then click on “Galen Dalrymple” and you’ll be taken to a link where you can make your donation.  If you prefer to donate via check, you may do so by writing your check payable to Medical Ambassadors International and put S090 in the “memo” field. Mail the check to Medical Ambassadors International, P.O. Box 1302, Salida, CA 95368.  All donations are tax deductible as MAI is a 501.c.3 organization certified with both the Evangelical Council for Financial Accountability and Guidestar.

Thank you!

Leave a Reply

