DayBreaks for 01/13/14 – The Key Word is ALL

DayBreaks for 01/13/14 – The Key Word is ALL

Isaiah 53:6 (MSG)  We’re all like sheep who’ve wandered off and gotten lost. We’ve all done our own thing, gone our own way. And GOD has piled all our sins, everything we’ve done wrong, on him, on him.

Colossians 2:13 (NLT)  You were dead because of your sins and because your sinful nature was not yet cut away. Then God made you alive with Christ, for he forgave all our sins.

During worship on Sunday our church usually sings fairly contemporary Christian worship songs and hymns. Yesterday, it was a bit like “throw back” Sunday as several of the songs were either old hymns (with a few modifications and played by a worship band) or medleys of several of the old favorites from the hymn book.

It started with “Jesus Paid It All”. I have sung that song (or heard it sung) for 60+ years, but not a lot lately. For some reason, the words of the song really hit me as we sang it. The four simple words, “Jesus paid it all….”knocked me out of my routine and made me start to get weepy.

I struggle with sin. I am not proud of that fact, but it is the plain and simple truth. I get frustrated at how much sin still allures me. You’d think that by my stage in life that I’d have a better handle on it. I don’t. Some of the temptations to sin may have changed, but I’m still a sinner. With lots of sin.

Like everyone, at times I despair. I can picture Jesus looking down from heaven and getting a very distinct look of disgust and revulsion when he sees me. But then the Spirit reminds me that when the Father sees me, He sees me dressed not in any righteousness of my own (for I have none!), but fully wrapped in Jesus’ righteousness.

As I thought about the words of the song, I took hope anew because I realized that even though I will continue to sin until my dying day, Jesus paid the price for ALL my sin already. It’s not like I’m going to commit one more sin that He hasn’t already paid for…Jesus paid it ALL!

PRAYER: Oh, Jesus! Hallelujah and glory to Your name for paying for ALL my sins already and freeing me from the fear of that “one more sin” that wouldn’t have been paid for! In Jesus’ name, Amen.

AN INTERESTING SIDE NOTE ON “Jesus Paid It All”: this hymn was written by a woman sitting in the choir loft during one of her pastor’s long prayers.  She wrote it on the flyleaf of a hymnal.

Copyright 2014 by Galen C. Dalrymple.

To subscribe to DayBreaks, use this link: https://daybreaksdevotions.wordpress.com and click on the Subscribe button at the right of the page.  If you wish to unsubscribe, at the bottom of each email you receive about DayBreaks, you should find an “Unsubscribe” ink at the bottom of the email.

NOTE: Galen serves as a missionary with Medical Ambassadors International (MAI) and must raise his own support.  DayBreaks is free – and will remain so – but if you wish to support Galen in his ministry, you can donate (one-time or recurring) by going to this link: http://www.medicalambassadors.org/donate.html.  

Look down the left side of the page until you find the SUPPORT MISSIONARIES section then click on “Galen Dalrymple” and you’ll be taken to a link where you can make your donation.  If you prefer to donate via check, you may do so by writing your check payable to Medical Ambassadors International and put S090 in the “memo” field. Mail the check to Medical Ambassadors International, P.O. Box 1302, Salida, CA 95368.  All donations are tax deductible as MAI is a 501.c.3 organization certified with both the Evangelical Council for Financial Accountability and Guidestar.

Thank you!

Leave a Reply

