DayBreaks for 12/10/13 – Why God Doesn’t Act

DayBreaks for 12/10/13 – Why God Doesn’t Act

NOTE: Galen will be traveling the week of 12/8.  New DayBreaks will resume the following week.

From the DayBreaks Archive, 2003:

How many times have you prayed for God to do something significant with your life?  If you’re at all like me, there have been plenty of times when I really, truly wanted to do something great for God.  Sadly, it is far more common that nothing happened than that God did that great thing.  When that happens, we are prone to blame God for the fact that whatever we wanted, didn’t happen.  And sometimes, that may be the right answer, because in his perfect wisdom, He knows whether it was really a good thing that would further His kingdom, or whether we wanted it for our own glory and the recognition of man.

More often than not, though, I am beginning to think that the reason that God doesn’t do great things for His kingdom through us is not because of some fault of His, but rather a fault within me.

In his book, Fresh Wind, Fresh Fire, Jim Cymbala wrote the following: “What is it really that stops us from becoming mighty warriors in the Lord?  God has not changed.  He is still superior to anything the enemy can throw at us.  No personal or church situation is too hopeless for the all-sufficient power of the Holy Spirit?  God will be no more eager to act tomorrow than he is right now.  He is waiting for us to take his promises seriously and go boldly to the throne of grace.  He wants us to meet the enemy at the very point of attack, standing against him in the name of Christ.  When we do so, God will back us up with all the resources of heaven.”

You see, the fault lies with me – not God.  The problem is that I fear that perhaps God has changed…that He may not be superior to the wiles of the evil one in the 21st century.  It is that I fear a given situation in my life of our congregation is too great for the Spirit to resolve.  It is because I think that God might be more eager to work through me when I get my life and act together – but He and I both know that I’m not there, not yet.  So I wait.  Or perhaps it is a failure on my part because I’m not eager to be at the tip of the sword, at the point of attack, where the battle is the fiercest because I fear for myself or my loved ones and what the enemy may do to them.  I may be eager to be part of the army of the Lord, but only if I can be part of the rear echelon responsible for the supplies – and not for the fighting itself.

Oh, I’d never say such things out loud – expressing my skepticism about the power of the Spirit or that perhaps God’s nature has changed a bit and He’s not quite up to dealing with the modern world.  No, I’d never say such things out loud.  But my actions, I fear, speak louder than my words – certainly to God, who sees all and knows all.

The key question for you and I today and always is this: are we willing to stand in the front line, trusting that God is ready, able and eager TODAY to carry the fight to the enemy and to defeat him right now – through me?  Am I willing to take His promises at face value – and as nothing less than the certain fact that they represent?  Don’t answer “Yes” to that question too quickly.  It’s easy to say “yes”, but what we say about it doesn’t really matter.  Our answer can’t be spoken – it can only demonstrated by whether or not I actually start living and acting based on His great and precious promises.

Numbers 14:11 (MsgB)  – “God said to Moses, ‘How long will these people treat me like dirt? How long refuse to trust me? And with all these signs I’ve done among them!’”

Copyright by 2003 Galen C. Dalrymple.  ><}}}”>

PRAYER: God of mercy, Lord of grace – we are speechless because of your goodness!  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Copyright 2013 by Galen C. Dalrymple.

To subscribe to DayBreaks, use this link: https://daybreaksdevotions.wordpress.com and click on the Subscribe button at the right of the page.  If you wish to unsubscribe, at the bottom of each email you receive about DayBreaks, you should find an “Unsubscribe” ink at the bottom of the email.

NOTE: Galen is a missionary with Medical Ambassadors International (MAI) and raises his own support.  DayBreaks is free – and will remain so – but if you wish to help support Galen in his ministry work with MAI, you can make a donation on his behalf.  One-time donations may be made by going to this link: http://www.medicalambassadors.org/donate.html.  Look down the left side of the page until you find the SUPPORT MISSIONARIES section then click on “Galen Dalrymple” and you’ll be taken to PayPal where you can make either a one-time or recurring (monthly) donation for his support.  If you have any questions, call 209-543-7500 ext. 219.  You can also write a check to Medical Ambassadors International. Mail the check to Medical Ambassadors International, P.O. Box 1302, Salida, CA 95368.  All donations are tax deductible as MAI is a 501.c.3 organization certified with the Evangelical Council for Financial Accountability and Guidestar.

Thank you!

Leave a Reply

