DayBreaks for 11/27/13 – My Friend

DayBreaks for 11/27/13 – My Friend

Proverbs 17:17 (ESV)  A friend loves at all times, and a brother is born for adversity.

Proverbs 18:24 (MSG)  Friends come and friends go, but a true friend sticks by you like family.

Proverbs 27:6 (ESV)  Faithful are the wounds of a friend; profuse are the kisses of an enemy.

Proverbs 27:9 (ESV)  Oil and perfume make the heart glad, and the sweetness of a friend comes from his earnest counsel.

Proverbs 27:17 (NLT)  As iron sharpens iron, so a friend sharpens a friend.

Ecclesiastes 4:10 (NIV)  If one falls down, his friend can help him up. But pity the man who falls and has no one to help him up!

Ecclesiastes 4:12 (MSG)  By yourself you’re unprotected. With a friend you can face the worst. Can you round up a third? A three-stranded rope isn’t easily snapped.

Everyone in the world needs a friend.  I don’t think that we need lots of them, but when the chips are down, we need a friend we can turn to, trust, lean on.  I am blessed to have a friend like that.  A brother born for adversity – and for victory.  A friend who sticks by me (perhaps even better than family).  A friend whose words are wise with counsel and who won’t pull punches with me when I’m wrong.  A friend who sharpens me and pushes me to be better, someone who will reach down to help me up.  Someone who will face the worst that life has to throw at me.  And I am grateful for my friend, Ken, for he is that kind of friend to me. 

But my friend needs a friend, too.  And while I am his friend and he is mine, we both recognize that we need a far greater Friend than we can ever be to one another.  At best, the friendship Ken and I have shared for 36 years is a poor imitation of the great Friend, the One known as “the friend of sinners.”  Thank God for such a Friend!  Thank God that He is the friend of sinners who call Him “Father”!  Thank God that though my friend Ken and I will some day be temporarily parted by death, we will never be separated from the Friend of our souls and that in eternity our friendship can continue…forever!  Thank God that He is not just my friend, but Ken’s friend, too, for that makes our friendship even more special and precious…a friendship that will survive death and time.

Jesus wants to be that kind of friend to you, to all of us.  Will we let Him?  If you’ve not met Him yet, let me introduce you to him.  Feel free to contact me through this blog…send me a comment.  I want you to know my Friend!  And He wants to know you!

Matthew 11:19 (NLT)  The Son of Man, on the other hand, feasts and drinks, and you say, ‘He’s a glutton and a drunkard, and a friend of tax collectors and other sinners!’ But wisdom is shown to be right by its results.”

How much I have to be thankful for!    

PRAYER: Thank You for giving us true friends, but thank You especially for being our truest Friend now and forever! For all those who need a friend like you, we pray that they will find You to be the perfect friend for whom they have been seeking! In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Copyright 2013 by Galen C. Dalrymple.

To subscribe to DayBreaks, use this link: https://daybreaksdevotions.wordpress.com and click on the Subscribe button at the right of the page.  If you wish to unsubscribe, at the bottom of each email you receive about DayBreaks, you should find an “Unsubscribe” ink at the bottom of the email.

NOTE: Galen is a missionary with Medical Ambassadors International (MAI) and raises his own support.  DayBreaks is free – and will remain so – but if you wish to help support Galen in his ministry work with MAI, you can make a donation on his behalf.  One-time donations may be made by going to this link: http://www.medicalambassadors.org/donate.html.  Look down the left side of the page until you find the SUPPORT MISSIONARIES section then click on “Galen Dalrymple” and you’ll be taken to PayPal where you can make either a one-time or recurring (monthly) donation for his support.  If you have any questions, call 209-543-7500 ext. 219.  You can also write a check to Medical Ambassadors International. Mail the check to Medical Ambassadors International, P.O. Box 1302, Salida, CA 95368.  All donations are tax deductible as MAI is a 501.c.3 organization certified with the Evangelical Council for Financial Accountability and Guidestar.

Thank you!

2 thoughts on “DayBreaks for 11/27/13 – My Friend

  1. Thank you. I pray that Jesus and the Holy Spirit will always be a part of our Friendship. Four strands of rope are much stronger than two. Your Friend.

Leave a Reply

